07.20.2005 2:13 p.m.
I'm proud of us

I stayed up late last night watching "Fresh Prince of Bel-Air" and I'm paying for it today. Can someone do some work for me for about a half an hour while I take a nap?

No?

Alrighty then.

************************************************

Remember this entry? The one about me helping myself financially?

Well, I must have done something right. As of Friday, Mr. Science-Girl and I will have NO credit card debt. All we will have now are house and car payments. We'll soon start stashing a bunch of money away in savings as an emergency fund, though.

WHOO HOO! I think we started with somewhere around $22k in credit card debt a few years ago. (He had about twice as much debt as I did at the time.) It's taken refinancing the house, a few years worth of tax returns, the Mister selling his second skydiving rig as well as selling some stock options once they reached maturity to do it, but we did it.

I'm happy to say that I've only used my credit card once in the past 9 months or so, and that was to order tickets to the Stevie Nicks concert my parents went to for my dad's birthday. I paid that purchase off by the next month.

We've also both still been saving for retirement. I've been putting 7% in my 401k since some time last year, and 6% the two years before that. Mr. SG is socking away even more.

Hooray! Hurrah! Yippee!

Not bad for a 25- and 32-year old, eh?

(Sorry about going on. I'm just very proud of us.)

Have a Happy Hump Day!

Listening to: Thievery Corporation - Mirror Conspiracy
Reading: The Da Vinci Code by Dan Brown


|

back | forward

Site Meter