06.07.2005 10:05 a.m.
Review of the weekend

I put gas in my car this morning. It was about $29. I used to fill up my husband's Chevy Blazer for about that same amount in 2002.

Gas prices need to go DOWN!

* * * * * *

Reviews of this weekend

Alex - was as close to being the Spawn of Satan as she ever has been. Wandering off at the Do-Dah parade/art fair on Saturday, talking back, doing things we had JUST told her not to...all of it. She was evil incarnate. I really hope she behaves better the next time we have her. I'd hate to have to kill* her.

*Note: There will be no actual killing. Please don't call family and children's services on me.

Long naps - Excellent and wonderful, and absolutely necessary when you woke up early and are planning on staying out late.

Forgetting to buy ear plugs - Sucked. I ended up using bits of toilet paper, because I am JUST. THAT. CLASSY.

Liquid Motor Commission - First band to play on Saturday night. Great music, incredible sound. The singer had an awesome voice and excellent stage presence, but seemed to be trying to be sexy. I could have done without the sexy. (She was already very attractive. She didn't need to try to be sexy.)

Immigrant Blue - Second band to play. Lord knows I love these guys, even if I am a bit biased. (I'd link to their website, but it's STILL DOWN!! Apparently whoever hosts the site for them is in the process of changing servers, and they're taking forever and a day.) They rocked the house, even if they did only play a few songs off their old album. I was disappointed by the lack of Chris's sex face. I wonder if someone told him about my last review?

searchpartyformel - This was their very first live show. Ever. The notes I wrote during their set were "I like the bass player's black bass" and "yelling *symbol for does not equal* music". Maybe it's just not my style of music. Maybe it was that I was tired by the time they went on. Maybe it was all the beer. Maybe it was the fact that they were by far the loudest band and I was still kicking myself for not remembering to buy ear plugs. Their fans seemed to like them, and that's really all that matters.

Gunship Radio - Fourth band to go on. By this point I had consumed about four(ish) beers and was tired as hell. What I heard sounded pretty good.

World Market - I LOVE looking at the wine selection there. We bought about $100 worth of wine to restock our wine cabinet. Yay, WINE! Yay, WORLD MARKET!

Yay, WEEKENDS!

Listening to: Liquid Motor Commission
Reading: Finished Cadillac Beach, and now I'm trying to decide what to read next.


|

back | forward

Site Meter