01.25.2005 1:43 p.m.
Immigrant Blue RAWKS!

My husband and I went to see Immigrant Blue play at the local university last Friday night. I haven�t seen live music in quite some time, and was thrilled with not only the music but also the band in general.

I was going to write about how much they rock, and how they�re amazing in the fact that their songs all sound different from each other, but someone else summed up the band and their sound better than I ever could.

From Immigrant Blue�s website - used without permission


In a world full of musical rip-offs, sonic copycats, and all-around generic rock and roll, one would assume there is little place for a band that creates well-crafted, diverse, and meaningful music. Yet such is the niche where Immigrant Blue find themselves. Taking their cues from the great bands of the past, bands that have stood the test of time, this Kalamazoo, MI quintet is out to make their mark. And like it or not, you will take notice.

In 2002, Immigrant Blue released their self-titled debut to a flurry of praise, both from fellow musicians and the local music-loving public. The songs lead you down a path from melancholy to madness, from reflection to resignation. Sean Mansell paints the scene, the keyboard his easel, his voice the brush. Dave Perry leads the march with snare and cymbal. Jon Moody sets the mood as the groove conductor, the bass a slave beneath his fingers. Steve Colca's guitar snarls in-time, lending a punch straight to the gut of the music. And Chris Frankhauser, whose guitar can cry, scream, and moan all in less than ten seconds. "Immigrant Blue" is music the way it was meant to be: challenging, rich, and melodic. These are five guys who know what they have and how to use it.

Immigrant Blue is currently working on their sophomore album, slated for a 2004 release. So keep your ears open. And if you see the guys around town, buy them a beer�cause hey, they're musicians. They're not rockstars�yet.

Art Peitsch - Supermodel-T

They were amazing. They seriously RAWKED.

The sound was awesome, their interaction with each other and the crowd was great, and they definitely know how to put on a good show.

It's easy to see that music is not "just another job" for these guys. They love what they do and their passion comes out through the music. My only complaint is that my legs hurt after the show from constantly tapping my feet.

Okay, so that's not really a complaint.

The one who struck me the most was Chris, the lead guitarist. Watching his face while he performed was an interesting experience. His face would move between a look of meditational zen and orgasmic bliss. I'm not even sure if he's aware of it. All I know is that when his fingers are flying over the fretboard, he seems to be completely in the moment. It really sort of makes me want to learn to play the guitar.

I think I've mentioned in here before that my first two boyfriends were musicians. The first one currently lives in New York City, working as a studio musician as well as doing shows with his band. The second one...fell off the face of the earth, I think. Maybe. Oh well.

My point is that my sister is now dating a musician (Hi, Jon!) and I couldn't be happier for her.

These guys have a great sound, and I have a feeling they'll go pretty far, even if they all keep their day jobs.

Listening to: Immigrant Blue
Reading: The Life of Pi by Yann Martel
Feeling: Like it's a freaking Monday again


|

back | forward

Site Meter