06.02.2005 1:12 p.m.
I'm slow

I would like to amend yesterday's entry.

I no longer think I'm losing my mind.

Now I just think that I'm slow.

You know, slow. Slow-witted. Feeble-minded. Simple.

Yes indeedy, that's me.

What makes me so sure?

I bought a Fiesta Taco Salad at Taco Hell today at lunch. I brought it back to my desk and starting tearing into it.

I ate THE ENTIRE THING before I realized that there was a cup of salsa and a cup of those curly-q tortilla strip things that they make such a big deal about on the commercials in the container. There were a few seconds there, in between cramming food into my open maw, when my brain clicked back into the "On" position from "Eating" position and I wondered if I was supposed to get the tortilla strips, but I kept getting distracted by the tasty mixture-of-mush that I had created in my taco bowl.

I'm sort of ashamed of myself for eating quite a bit of the taco bowl. I know it's the least healthy part of the salad, but I couldn't. stop. eating. it. It was TOO GOOD. (Plus, it was naughty, which always makes things taste better.)

And besides, it's how I discovered that those little cups were in the back of the container. I snapped off a section of taco bowl, and voila! There they were.

It was then that I realized that I'm not going crazy (comments about this not being true can be left in the comments section on this page, in my notes, in my guestbook or sent to my diaryland e-mail address), but that I'm just a little slow on the uptake.

And that's okay.

I think this is what allows me to be entertained by a piece of fuzz, a child's floor puzzle or anything sparkly for hours.

So, for anyone wondering...the Fiesta Taco Salad is delicious, and the cups of extra stuff are in the back of the container. That's why it's got such a funny shape.

Now you (and I) know.

Listening to: Guess. You probably know.
Reading: Cadillac Beach by Tim Dorsey


|

back | forward

Site Meter