04.04.2003 8:56 a.m.
Spooky stories

I thought since it's a Friday, it might be a good time to share some GHOST STORIES. It was sort of M's idea. She wanted to know more about the male spirit in my house. So, I'll tell you about a few experiences I've had with them...

--------------------------------------

But FIRST, I'd like to say two things:

First, WE'RE RICH!!! We finally got our damn federal tax refund. And I was right a couple entries ago when I said I'd love those anonymous bastards with all my heart when our money came. I do. Love them. And I am SO freaking glad that we finally got our refund. We need that money more than I can say.

Second, I saw the sweetest sign yesterday. It was on a dry cleaner's sign. It said, "Military Uniforms - Cleaned For Free." I thought that was just so sweet...

--------------------------------------

Okay, onto the good stuff... Spooky stories! Grab a cup of hot cocoa and your teddy bear and put on your Depends, kids! These might freak you out!

Okay, let's see...what to start with? Well, shortly after we moved in, I was on the computer in the office while my husband was getting ready for bed. All of a sudden, he yelled, "Hey! Why did you just throw a quarter at me?" I said, "What the hell are you talking about? I'm in the computer room. In order to throw something at you, I would have had to throw it so it went around the corner. You're on crack." (I'm sweet and loving like that.) He said he was just standing there and a quarter came flying at him and hit him in the leg. Weird.

A few weeks later, he was standing in front of the closet next to the bathroom where we keep all our bathroom-type products, and one of my small makeup containers came flying off the shelf at him and hit him in the chest. That wasn't me either.

We know that our house was owned by one couple before us. They actually designed the house, had it built, lived and raised their family there for 54 years before they passed away. I believe the husband passed in 2000 and the wife passed in 2001. Even if they didn't actually die in the house, chances are that their energy is still there, as they spent the majority of their lives in it. The man's name was Harold and the wife's name was Martha. Harold seems to hang around on the main floor and in the basement, and Martha likes the top floor.

Usually at night when my husband was gone, I used to hear really loud thumping noises on the stairs coming up to the upper floor, like someone heavy was walking up and down the stairs. One night, I got so freaked out, (even though I knew that our security alarm would have gone off if there was an actual person in the house), that I got out the gun, loaded it, and kept it on the nightstand. Just in case.

Most nights, as I was getting ready for bed upstairs, I would hear either noises like someone was walking around downstairs, or noises like someone was coming up the stairs. One night it got me so pissed off that I yelled, "Cut it out!" I haven't heard anything like that since...

Part of it might have to do with the fact that we've got cats now. Shortly after we got Callie, I came home to find her litter box had been completely turned around, so that the hole where she could crawl into was pushed all the way against the wall. She wasn't able to get into it. I had cleaned the litter box out the night before, and I always made sure to put the lid back on so the hole was facing out. Unless the cat pulled out the litter box, turned it around 180 degrees, and then pushed it back toward the wall, something else did it.

The kitty litter incident happened the same night that I had gone around collecting wastebaskets so I could take out the trash. I had gone upstairs into the bathroom, turned on the light, grabbed the wastebasket, and turned off the light. Then I went into our bedroom to grab that trash. When I was walking near the bathroom to go downstairs with the trash, I noticed that the light in the bathroom had been turned back on. It's one of those old switches that you have to push really hard to get it to go on or off, so I know it didn't just turn back on by itself.

-------------------------------------

So, what do you think? Is our house haunted, or are we both insane?

If you like those stories, let me know, and I'll share some of my other experiences that I've had, both in the house where I grew up, and in New Orleans.

Oh, and if you like me, click on the Top 100 Diaries of Diaryland button towards the bottom of my diary. I want to pretend like I'm popular! If only for a few minutes...





|

back | forward

Site Meter