12.14.2005 9:44 p.m.
Christmas is coming!

People at work keep telling me many days are left until Christmas. I keep trying to ignore them but they won't stop reminding me of how very, very unprepared I am for Christmas this year.

I remember when Christmas was one of my favorite holidays. This year I just can't wait for it to be over so the stress will end.

Of course, the new year brings a whole new set of stressful things, like year-end at work and going back to school while working my ass off for year-end, among other things.

But I digress.

We've gotten presents taken care of for a few people, but I feel like we still have a ton of stuff to A) decide on and then B) purchase. Within 10 days from tomorrow.

Crap, crap, crap.

I jokingly told Mr. Science-Girl a week or so ago that I wanted to just make tins of cookies to give to people. "Here are your cookies...if you don't like them, too damn bad." I may have been joking then, but I'm quickly starting to think that's an excellent idea.

So, if any of you end up with cookies for Christmas, please know that I'm sorry I didn't get you something super awesome that you've always wanted. I'll do better next year.

We haven't even put up any decorations yet, although we told The Child she could help us put up decorations this coming weekend. I guess we'd better run out and get something to put up. Maybe we'll just run to Target and get one of those 1-foot-tall trees my officemate told me about. Or maybe we'll just throw some ribbon around the cats and call it good.

Listening to: A Sex and the City rerun.
Reading: A Million Little Pieces by James Frey


|

back | forward

Site Meter