07.08.2005 4:41 p.m.
I am a Grammar Nazi

This past weekend, we took the child for a walk around a certain nature-y type place that has trails to walk/rollerblade/bike on. (It also has canoes and little bicycle surreys and such.) It's lovely out there.

Aaaanyway, we were walking along, talking.

All of a sudden, Alex said something that involved the words "have went".

I nearly had a brain aneurysm.

I nearly had a heart attack.

A little piece of me probably died inside.

I actually did yell "NOOOOOOOOO!"

My name is Science Girl, and I am a Grammar Nazi.

I love my husband and I love my mother-in-law, but they both have that horrible, horrible grammar habit. It sort of makes me want to cry.

Since Alex spends probably 70-80% of her time with my mother-in-law, she has picked it up. Joy joy.

The last few years, I have alternated between wanting to correct both my husband and my mother-in-law, and figuring that since they've been doing it for many many years, it would be impossible to break them of that habit.

Luckily, Alex will start learning Spanish when she begins kindergarten in August. Learning another language is an EXCELLENT way to start speaking better English.

For my husband and mother-in-law, though, I think I might need to print out a chart of what you use and when.

I went.
He/She/They went.

I have gone.
He/She/They have gone.

Grrr...

The chart idea may also involve the use of a shock collar.

I haven't quite decided yet.

May your weekend be sunny and free of bad grammar.

Listening to: Juliette and the Licks - You're Speaking My Language
Reading: Umm...tons of research on the topics I'm writing queries about


|

back | forward

Site Meter