05.31.2005 2:19 p.m.
Memorial Day weekend

This weekend was marvy... A 3 day weekend that actually FELT like a 3 day weekend.

Saturday involved a quick trip to Kohl's to find a wedding-appropriate ensemble for me. I also managed to find a couple of work items as well. Yay, new work clothes!

From there we went to Target to purchase something for the lovely to-be-weds. Mr. Science Girl lamented the fact that there aren't any "Congratulations on finally making it official and no longer living in sin" or "Hooray! You're no longer going to hell!" cards. I told him I'd submit the ideas to Hallmark. We'll see if anything comes of that...

Then we spent a couple of hours chilling at home, watching TV and trying to figure out where the hell the wedding location was. I painted my nails and toenails to match the skirt that I'd be wearing. Sometimes I'm so much of a fussy-pants girlie girl that I scare myself. Oh well.

When the time came, we changed and headed out to the wedding. Unfortunately, we took my car (fabric seats) instead of his car (leather seats), and when we arrived he looked like he had been rubbing both the cats against his ass and the backs of his legs. Whoops. Perhaps it's time for me to vacuum my car.

The ceremony was lovely...short and sweet. Just the way I like it. At one point it was Matt's turn to say his vows, but something in his brain momentarily broke and he was silent until his fiance whispered "SAY IT!" That got his brain working again.

The ceremony and reception were at the same place, so we went straight into the reception room after doing the sending-off-the-bride-and-groom thing. Draft beer was free, so guess what we got to drink?

That's right.

Draft beer.

We found our table and said hello to the people we were sitting with. Then my lovely husband decided to go sit with his parents and aunt and uncle at the table next to us to talk to them for a while. After about 20 minutes, when I'd gotten tired of staring at the walls (stone) and the ceiling (copper tin), and had just started to decide whether a small container of half and half or one of the chocolate favors would be better to throw at him, he came back to sit with me.

Hi. I don't know anyone we're sitting with. Want to leave me alone for a long time? Super!!

Once the salads came, things got pretty good. The Best Man's toast was hilarious. Dinner was FREAKING DELICIOUS. The Bud Light wasn't too bad. Conversation was flowing...when we weren't all too busy stuffing our faces.

After dinner and cake, the dancing started.

Oh my, did the dancing begin...

We ended up staying until 12:30 AM so I (and sometimes we) could dance our asses off. I woke up the next morning with sore feet, a painful lower back, and legs that kept reminding me that I'd gotten down with my bad self for hours the previous night, but hadn't been to the gym in...umm...a couple weeks.

It was the best wedding I've been to in a while, I think. Fun fun fun stuff.

We ended up sleeping until around 11 AM or so the next morning. Jeez. You'd think we were old and needed lots of sleep or something.

After going out for breakfast, we headed back home to chill before my sister came over.

That afternoon, my sister and I might have set a world speed record for finding a Mistress of Hotness (thanks, Weetabix) dress.

Seriously. If we hadn't spent so much time going around to other stores to see if they had anything we liked better, it would have been about a 5 minute search for The Dress.

We walked into Sears, became worried when we didn't see clearance prom dresses right away, until we walked to the right section of the store.

We both saw it at the same time. Beautiful. Green. Poofy. 40% OFF.

We grabbed another style of dress in the same color just to be sure and headed to the fitting rooms. I swear there was a choir of angels singing and a heavenly glow coming from The Dress when I put it on. We both said, "I like it!"

I tried on the other one, but it wasn't nearly as lovely as the first. If I had been thinking, I would have had Jen take a picture of me in the dress, but I think my brain had become paralyzed by the pretty.

Oh well. I'll get a picture at some point soon.

So, $63.59 for my Mistress of Hotness dress. I was hoping to find a bargain, but had no idea it would be so good. Yay!

After our shopping excursion, she left and the hubby and I watched In Good Company (excellent) and Donnie Darko (weird, but good). I think I would like to either watch Donnie Darko a few more times, or read the Cliff Notes so I can fully understand it. That's some trippy shit.

Yesterday, we pretty much went to breakfast, went to the in-laws to see Alex and get his birthday present from his mom and dad, had some quality time together and went to dinner.

We had all sorts of cleaning planned, but somehow didn't end up getting to it. Oops.

All in all, an excellent weekend.

I wish ALL weekends could be 3 day weekends.

Listening to: Garbage - Bleed Like Me
Reading: Vanity Fair magazine


|

back | forward

Site Meter