05.04.2005 4:02 p.m.
Books Are Fun

We have this guy from a company called Books Are Fun bring books and other items in every so often. Normally he has some weird stuff, a few treasures at excellent prices, and things you might buy for people as a joke.

This time, it's mostly weird stuff and things you might buy for people as a joke.

For instance, there's this set of 6 candles with different scents. I use the word "scents" loosely here. There are three that smell somewhat close to what they're supposed to smell like, but with a chemical tinge.

The other three smell like crap.

Or, as one of my co-workers said, "This one burned the inside of my nose, and this one smells like my grandpa's house."

Yum.

Luckily, I am pretty much poor as hell right now, so even if I were tempted to buy anything right now, I couldn't.

I have no idea how exactly this happened.

Oh wait. Yes, I do. I have been spending my money on SHIT again.

There was a point not too long ago where I had $111 in my savings account as a bit of a cushion, and the $12 a week that went into my vacation savings account actually stayed in that account.

Then I started buying stuff.

I can pretty much trace it back to the purchase of the Columbia boots I'd been wanting all winter. Of course, I bought them while they were on sale, probably because WINTER WAS OVER.

They're still sitting on my dining room table, unopened, all but hidden under a pair of pants and a bunch of papers.

Damn, that was a worthy purchase.

After that, I just sort of started buying whatever struck my fancy at any particular time.

Granted, I have spent quite a bit on magazines for research and books about writing, which I can sort of forgive myself for. (And perhaps use as tax deductions if anyone actually pays me to write anything this year.)

But those 5 patterns from Vogue and other designers...that was sort of silly.

I still have a pattern and some material from a skirt I was going to make before I became too fat to fit into said skirt once it was actually finished.

Oops.

Apparently I bought a bunch of other stuff, too, although I can't really remember what all that stuff was.

I've been playing Musical Bank Accounts� quite a bit lately. I'll transfer some money from my savings or vacation savings into checking to cover whatever purchases I've made, and then when I get paid again I'll pay the donor account back.

Except...

I haven't had enough lately to pay back ALL of what I've borrowed from my accounts. This week I hit rock bottom, as I now have $0.00 in my vacation savings and $11 in savings.

AND I have about $7 in my wallet and not enough money in my checking account to make the car payment which is scheduled to come out tomorrow.

Oops.

I guess I need to learn a lesson from the me of 5 months ago, when I had enough money for what I wanted to buy and still had a bit left over.

This whole, "Oh shit, I'm poor" feeling really sucks. I thought I was done with it.

Hopefully this is just a minor slip-up, and I will go back to being financially responsible again pretty damn soon.

As soon as I buy a set of candles that smell like ass.

Or...maybe not.

***************************************************

Oh, thanks to everyone who gave their reviews of the patch. My sister was kind enough to tell me "You have to first realize they're made for people with little to no body hair. If you happen to have blonde fuzzies everywhere (as we both do), the patch doesn't like to stick as well as it should...Plus, you would pretty much have to put it on your ass if you don't want it to show in the summer."

She's a smart girl. I'll think I'll be going back to Estrostep FE.

Listening to: Michele Whitlow - Satin Roses
Reading: The Stingray Shuffle - Tim Dorsey


|

back | forward

Site Meter