04.28.2005 2:37 p.m.
Alex was the flower girl

So, the munchkin's mom got married last Saturday.

Alex has been SO excited about it for months now.

She has gone on and on about how she was going to wear a pretty dress, and walk down the aisle throwing flower petals while walking beside her half brother, after which she would be getting married. To her mom.

"Oh, but wait. You have to marry a boy. I'll marry my brother."

Generally this would be followed by us trying to explain that her mom and C were getting married, but she would be the flower girl. Or by either my husband or I saying, "Only in West Virginia."

(No offense to anyone who lives in West Virginia.)

And even though she has told us no less than 50 times, "You can come to my wedding," we did not end up attending.

I'm pretty sure we paid for most of it, but alas, we were not invited.

So, my mother-in-law called my husband on...one day early this week. She was telling him about the wedding and what she and Alex were going to do this week while she was off work.

She said Alex suddenly got a case of the jitters before the wedding. She didn't want to walk down the aisle. They ended up bribing her by saying after she walked down the aisle, she could have a pack of gum.

Apparently she did the flower girl thing, got to the end of the aisle...and made a beeline for my mother-in-law, who she promptly asked, "Where's my gum?"

Does that child have her priorities straight, or what?

Listening to: Beck - Guero
Reading: BUST magazine


|

back | forward

Site Meter