02.23.2005 1:34 p.m.
Work stuff and TV stuff

Gah.

The fun just never stops here, my friends.

So, that power outage yesterday. It done fucked things up a bit.

I won't bore you all with technical details. Basically, the main program Officemate and I use had some corrupted files. Our IT guy had no idea how to fix them. He decided that the only way to get things working again was to restore the system with Monday night's backup tape.

The backup from Monday night.

Today is Thursday.*

Good news: Things are finally working again.

Bad news: I have to attempt to remember everything I did in the system Tuesday and Wednesday yesterday.

I know I finished converting a client to that system on Tuesday. I now have to track that file down and re-enter all the missing information. Hooray!

I guess the semi-good thing here is that the computer was screwed up for a big chunks of Tuesday and Wednesday, so it's not like I got as much done as I would have if the system was working correctly.

Also on the bright side, I did actually clean out my three-trays-of-papers-and-crap on my desk this morning when we weren't allowed to get on our computers.

Woo! Go me! I always feel so productive when I'm throwing old shit away.

But, hopefully all the technical issues are over with. *knock on wood*

For this week, anyway.

*Edited to add: Hello! I'm retarded! I don't think I've known for at least the past two weeks what day of the week it was. I am now aware that it is only Wednesday. Carry on about your business.

***********************************************************

I was tired and sick last night, and didn't know what to watch from 6 to 7 pm. I ended up flipping to a rerun of 7th Heaven.

DEAR GOD.

Talk about taking one particular idea and shoving it down viewers' throats until they're practically choking on it.

Sex before marriage is bad.

Sex before marriage is bad.

Sex before marriage is bad.

What? I'm confused. Is sex (or "having a physical relationship", as they call it) before marriage good or bad?

Criminy.

I myself am a big fan of the "try before you buy" school of thought, but that's just me and I'm a reformed sorta-whore. Plus, there's really not much I can do to change the past now. Oops! Too late for me.

Now, don't get me wrong. In a world full of those anything-goes reality shows, a show with a moral is definitely a good things. Yay for happy families and communication and all that jazz.

However, there is a difference between using a show as a platform to express a belief and saying, "Everyone has to believe this or you're going to hell."

Ya know?

I guess they figure the people who regularly watch it believe the same ideas the show is trying to promote.

Right? Probably.

My other main thought (besides "Holy crap, I get the point!") was "who gave all these kids permission to grow up?" I think the last time I watched that show was Season 1 or 2. Now it's on Season 9, and everybody is all growed up. The once-14-year-old is now married with a baby.

Time flies when you're having fun.

Time sometimes even flies when you're not.

That's why I have to get back to work. I have two days one day of work to redo! Woo!!!

Listening to: John Mayer - Heavier Things
Reading: Me Talk Pretty One Day - David Sedaris


|

back | forward

Site Meter