02.08.2005 10:07 a.m.
My new addiction and Other notes

I have a new addiction.

It's all I can think about lately.

I have no money, but I just bought some more items to feed my habit.

Ladies and gentlemen, my name is Science Girl and I am addicted to...

puzzles.

My husband and I went shopping for puzzles for Alex when we had her a couple of weekends ago. We found a pretty 500-piece one for us as well.

It looks a little something like this:

We spent Friday night, a good bit of Saturday and some of Sunday working on it.

It hurt my back to be all hunched up over the coffee table we were working on, but I kept doing it anyway.

I'd tell myself, "Okay, I'm done now" and then not even a minute later I'd find myself putting a piece into place.

We had planned on going out somewhere on Saturday night, but we became too involved with doing the puzzle (and watching Catch Me If You Can) to go anywhere.

Of course, we did manage to leave the house quickly to get a dessert pizza and cookie dough from the take and bake place.

I guess the good thing about developing an addiction to puzzles is that we're probably causing our brains to grow new cells. That should help make up for all the time we spend killing them.

Plus, it relaxes me and gives me a feeling of accomplishment. It's very zen-like...concentrating on one tiny thing at a time.

Even better, I don't pick at my fingers while I'm "puzzling". Anything that helps with that is a good thing.

So, even though I'm low on money this week, I ended up buying two puzzles.

this one and this one.

Hooray! Now I can't wait for them to arrive!

So, to sum up...Puzzles = GOOD.

************************************************************

Other notes of interest:

--I went to the gym last night. Finally. First time in two weeks. That's a good thing.

The bad news is that today it hurts to move my arms at all. Arm muscles, chest muscles...OUCH. I told my sister I was going to drive home from the gym with my knees last night.

I'm going again tonight, though. Hopefully it'll feel better the second day.

Gym = GOOD
Sore = BAD

--My husband and I bought and watched Shall We Dance over the weekend, and I actually liked it. I cried at the end. But not really. Because that would be girly. And I'm totally not girly.

Shall We Dance = GOOD

--My husband and I will be traveling a bit in a few weeks. We're going to my niece's birthday party in Pittsburgh on the 19th, then to Bad Bar Con two weekends later. Woot! I'm very excited about both trips!

Getting the hell out of Michigan = GOOD

And now I'm sorry to say that I really must be getting back to work.

Work = BAD, but
Having a job at all right now = GOOD

Listening to: Immigrant Blue
Reading: The Life of Pi. I would have read more this weekend were it not for puzzles.
Feeling: shock that I'm not absolutely dreading the gym tonight


|

back | forward

Site Meter