01.31.2005 3:08 p.m.
Culture and coffee

This weekend I finally saw a show that I've wanted to see for about 8 years.

RENT rocked!

I was kicking myself for not putting kleenexes in my purse before the show, though. I started crying at one point (when someone died) and of course my nose started running, too. I was trying to be all stealthy by sniffing only when someone was talking or singing. At least I heard a few other people around me doing the same thing, so I didn't feel too badly about it.

I definitely recommend Rent to anyone who might want to see it. It's EXCELLENT!

One of the coolest parts was after the show when the actors were taking their bows...they called a guy onto the stage. He had been waiting just offstage. He came out with a microphone in one hand and a bouquet of flowers in the other hand. He asked his girlfriend to come up on stage.

It was hilarious...as soon as she got up there near him, you could hear her say "Are you kidding!?!?"

Is it just me, or would that be a REALLY cruel joke to play on someone?

"I'm going to propose...ha ha just kidding! I'm really not."

Then, he said some sweet stuff.

She responded with, "Did my mom know about this?"

Then of course he got down on one knee and proposed, and she said yes. The audience went nuts. It was amazing.

I turned to my husband and said, "Let's get engaged again!"

He said, "Yeah, right!"

After the show we stopped at a little coffeehouse that I used to frequent when I was in high school. I got the same thing I always used to (a Coast Mocha with two shots of espresso...because who wants to go to bed at 11 PM?) and pointed out the booth that I'd sat in when I was there last. It's strange how my memory works.

We sat at a table, drank coffee, talked and did a bit of people watching. It was a really good time.

In the car on the way home, we made a pact to start going out and doing something cultural or new or new and cultural at least once a month.

I wonder if we'll actually do it?

Who knows...we may become one of those couples who always talks about going to the opera or the symphony or a museum or a sex club.

Just kidding about that last one.

Happy Monday!

Listening to: Immigrant Blue's CD. I'm addicted!
Reading: The Life of Pi by Yann Martel
Feeling: sleepy


|

back | forward

Site Meter