01.27.2005 12:49 p.m.
Food Alarm

I think I need some sort of alarm that goes off around 11:30 AM each day.

I keep waiting too long to go to lunch, and my blood sugar drops way too low. I need sort of like an electronic tether on my ankle that can sense if I'm still sitting at my computer at a certain time and will sound an alarm until I go outside to get food.

Or I could just be responsible and make sure I go to lunch early enough.

Then I wouldn't have times like this, when I'm sitting at my desk, nauseated but knowing I need to eat, trembling so much that I'm afraid I'll miss my mouth with my chicken tenders and end up with Ranch dressing all over my face.

Bah.

Stupid hypoglycemia anyway.

At least I remembered to bring my gym bag into the office when I got back from getting food.

It's always such a lovely feeling to arrive at the gym and have my first activity be getting out of warm clothes so I can put on freezing cold ones.

Wheee!

My sister and I were talking about the cold clothes thing a few weeks ago when I arrived at the gym. She mentioned something about hating to put on cold clothes and I concurred. A woman getting dressed a few feet away from us said, "I sat on mine. Took them out of my bag and just sat on them all the way here."

I was surprised that I never thought of that...perhaps because my normal body temperature is somewhere around that of a snake in Canada in the middle of winter.

Another woman chimed in and said, "You could go put them in the sauna for a minute. They'll warm up really quickly in there!"

Of course, it's usually only minutes later that I'm sweating my ass off on the elliptical and wishing I had a big cool pool to jump into.

I'm just never satisfied, I guess.

Happy Thursday.

Listening to: the Garden State soundtrack
Reading: Life of Pi and a Spiegel catalog
Feeling: shaky, tired and generally blah


|

back | forward

Site Meter