01.13.2005 1:30 p.m.
Rocket Science and Fingerprints

I went to Wendy's for lunch today. Through the drive-thru, of course, as I had shit I had to get done at work.

I ordered a single with just cheese and ketchup, chicken nuggets instead of fries and a Pepsi.

I received a single with just ketchup, fries and a Pepsi.

Are you kidding me?

It's not rocket science, people. It's fast food. It's putting the right shit into the right bag. I used to do it. I should know. It's NOT THAT HARD.

Maybe it was the person in the van in front of me who apparently ordered enough food for a football team. I sat there behind him while he spent 5 freaking minutes at the speaker placing his order. Then I spent ANOTHER 5 freaking minutes sitting behind him at the window, while bag after bag after drink carrier full of drinks was passed out to him.

Maybe all that food confused them.

I don't know.

Whatever it was, I should be able to get the food I ordered and paid for, instead of whatever other shit they felt like throwing into a bag.

Know what I mean?

Of course, I am a giant pussy, so I did not call and complain. I sure as hell didn't feel like driving all the way back there to exchange it for the right order.

If reality worked the way things do in my head, I'd call and tell them what I ordered and they'd send someone to deliver it. That person would apologize profusely, give me my money back, and then kiss my shoes. Then I'd get free food whenever I wanted it for the next six months.

You know...or something. I haven't really put that much thought into it.

***********************************************************

In other news, my fingerprint-less Officemate finally went back to the police station to get her fingerprints done AGAIN. She actually came back with 2 out of the 3 cards she took that the FBI may actually accept this time.

The woman has barely discernable fingerprints. She's not a criminal. She hasn't used acid or lye or sandpaper to remove them. She just barely has any ridges. At her old job (also in finance/securities), she had to go back 3 different times in an attempt to get an acceptable print card.

For this job, she and I went down together to get them done shortly after she started. It took a mere two years for the compliance guy in our office to lose them (somewhere in his office), find them (somewhere in his office) and finally send them into the home office. (I work with a bunch of geniuses.) They called him a month or so after he sent them in to tell them that Officemate's were unacceptable. They were illegal. She'd have to get them done again. (I then helpfully told her that if she were going to commit a crime, now would be the time to do it.)

She put it off until she got a call from the home office last week, telling her that she REALLY needed to get them done.

So today, she did. Hopefully they'll accept them this time...or they'll send someone out here so they can see her fingers for themselves.

I bet there are quite a few criminals out there who would trade fingerprints with her in a heartbeat. She probably wouldn't even mind...having none is more of a pain in the ass than an asset to her, anyway.

In fact, maybe I could set something up for her.

Anyone interested in a finger swap?

Listening to: the filtered water glugging in the kitchen
Reading: The Partly Cloudy Patriot by Sarah Vowell
Feeling: frustrated with what I'm working on


|

back | forward

Site Meter