11.24.2004 1:45 p.m.
Diet and exercise, what?

It's a damn good thing I already decided this week was sort of a free week as far as diet and exercise were concerned.

So far today, I have consumed:

-a blueberry bagel with a bit of regular (not lite) cream cheese
-12 or so no-bake cookies (I've actually lost count) that one of the receptionists made and brought in (because she's EVIL!)
-a cornucopia of pills for various disorders and maladies

Yup. Go me.

And I can tell you for sure that I won't be going to the gym tonight, will be stuffing myself and not exercising tomorrow, and will intend but probably won't follow through with going any of the days from Friday through Sunday.

Next Monday night, though, my ass will be at the gym.

Is there a service available that will send you someone to kick your ass and make you exercise? I think I need someone like that. Otherwise I might end up weighing about 400 pounds by New Year's.

*sigh*

*************************************************

Tonight after work I get to go home and start cleaning the house like a maniac. I apparently forgot when we decided that we'd have Thanksgiving at our house again this year that hosting this event would involve people coming over.

Why yes, I am the smartest woman alive. Thank you for asking.

We hosted Thanksgiving the first year we were in our house (2 years ago). The meal was excellent and I think everyone enjoyed themselves. I'd like those two aspects to be recreated this year.

This time, however, I'd like to avoid the toaster oven fire. As exciting as that was, I'd prefer not to recreate it, mostly because we finally went out about a month ago and bought a new toaster oven.

And how did the fire happen?, you might wonder.

Well, I'll tell you.

Somehow the heavy pan containing the turkey was set down on the counter near the toaster oven. Somehow said pan managed to depress the "TOAST" button on the toaster oven without anyone noticing.

Normally, this wouldn't have been a problem.

However, this time someone had inadvertently put one of our joint checkbooks into the toaster oven in an effort to "clean up".

Do you see where I'm going here?

So, the oven was turned on, the checkbook caught on fire and bada bing bada boom, we had to throw the flaming, smoking, STINKING toaster oven out into the driveway to let it cool down. This was followed by opening all the windows in an attempt to get the nasty burning smell out of the house.

I told people that we just wanted to make sure it was a Thanksgiving they remembered.

*grin*

I hope everyone out there has a Thanksgiving to remember. Throw your diet out the window and enjoy the feast of food and family tomorrow.

Listening to: "Private Radio" by Vanessa Carlton going through my head
Reading: Alien Secrets by Annette Curtis Klause
Feeling: mellow


|

back | forward

Site Meter