11.15.2004 1:18 p.m.
Guido and home improvement

My sister just e-mailed me politely (rudely) requesting (demanding) that I write a new entry.

Okay, Jen...this one is for you.

So...today.

Today, and most of the weekend really, I've felt as though I've been worked over by a 6'5" man named Guido with a baseball bat for not paying up what I owe to his boss. Who knew simply coughing could make my ribs/muscles/everything inside or attached to my torso hurt? I did not. That's a new one for me.

And the stuff I'm coughing up...BLECH. I think something crawled into my lungs and died and is in the process of decaying. I've never coughed up brown stuff before. I'm just having all sorts of new experiences lately.

At least I'm already going to the doctor on Thursday. Technically, it's for my ADHD evaluation, but I think I'll mention the fact that I've been coughing all the damn time and it's annoying and it hurts and it's preventing me from sleeping, and see if he takes the cue to prescribe me some Phenergan with codiene. I'm guessing he won't, but I'll see.

This weekend was a good one. Didn't accomplish a whole heck of a lot outside of raking leaves and trimming down my herb garden, but hey... We did watch a few movies we hadn't seen before (Eye of the Beholder and The Astronaut's Wife) and one that I had seen but my husband hadn't (The Princess and the Warrior).

We also may or may not have watched about 9 episodes of Season 1 of West Wing yesterday. *grin* I LOVE that show.

Yup. So...

We pretty much just chilled all weekend. Ran some errands, saw my (very tan) parents on Saturday, did a bit of grocery shopping.

Oh, and the insulation thing never happened. My husband went to the store and bought this supposedly super good $30 drill bit for drilling the 1" holes. It broke while he was trying to drill the fourth hole. (This is the same man who broke three different shovels while tearing out some bushes in our yard. One of the shovels had a lifetime guarantee. My mom and I took it back about 20 minutes after my husband bought it.) He took it as an omen of how the rest of the project might end up going, and we decided to wait until the spring when we'll just do insulation and siding all at the same time. Wheeee!

I guess I can take one more winter of paying out the ass for heat. It's not like I'm trying to save money for *cough*school*cough* or anything.

Heh.

And just to show you that apparently my wit is genetic...a bit of an e-mail from my sister.

"Oh, and which care package did you send to a soldier? I was browsing them a few minutes ago, as I HAVE ABSOLUTELY NOTHING ELSE TO DO DURING MY LUNCH HOUR, and found an interesting item in one of the packages: see subject for the name.

Here's the package:

Cool Stuff
Everything a soldier needs to beat the heat, the bugs and the sun, all packed in a camouflage patterned drawstring bag. There's a MiraCool bandana, Rocky Mountain Sunscreen and lip balm, PowerDEET 25 Insect repellant, Peppermint Shower Soap, Shower to Shower Powder and Anti-Monkey Butt anti-itch powder. Plus a fistful of Tootsie Pops and a tin of All-American Mints.
Price: $39.95

Anti-Monkey Butt?!? Couldn't they have come up with a better brand name? That's kinda scary...Plus, maybe it's just me and my anti-war stance, but don't you think if you were in the desert fighting a war, Mints would be the last thing you'd think that you'd need. I myself would be more concerned with not getting my head or other necessary body parts blown off...but, that's just me. =)"

She's such a funny girl.

Happy Monday!

Listening to: Bitch From Hell and Officemate talking about a file
Reading: Orange Crush by Tim Dorsey
Feeling: see fourth paragraph of entry


|

back | forward

Site Meter