10.28.2004 12:29 p.m.
Sad and not sad

Do you know what's sad?

I have no idea what day trick or treating will take place this weekend.

We're sort of in a heavily religious area, which means it could have been moved to Saturday night, so as not to confuse the children with celebrating the devil on "Christ's Day".

(Because I can totally remember walking down the street in costume when I was a kid thinking "Yay Satan!" rather than trying to figure out how to change my costume enough to make me look different so I could go back to the house that gave out the King Size Kit Kats.)

I think we have a pretty heavy heathen population around here, though, so maybe it's still on Sunday.

I HAVE NO IDEA!!!

This is somewhat a non-issue since my husband and I haven't quite made it to the store to buy candy yet, but I'm distressed that I don't know what day to expect people.

Besides, we're totally having a poker game on Saturday night. There will be no time for kids and costumes and candy!

I think I'll just post a sign on Saturday night that says "Please come back when it's actually Halloween. Then you'll get some candy."

Or something.

I just think it's crap that people are so against celebrating Halloween on the actual day of Halloween. Maybe that's just the Pagan in me. Or it's just the little girl who used to LOVE dressing up as things/people TOTALLY different than I actually was in me. Either way, I find it a bit sad.

********************************************************

But do you know what's not sad? I got the following e-mail earlier today:

"Dear D******** ********:

Recently, you completed a study for ELLE Magazine.
You may recall that we promised to award eleven respondents who completed the survey with a special prize.

We're pleased to let you know that you are the winner of a $500 American Express shopping spree (approximate retail value: $500)!

*Please allow up to 12 weeks for fulfillment from ELLE Magazine.
For questions regarding the fulfillment status of your prize please contact Pat Keane ([email protected]) at HFM Magazines.

Paul E Gold
Mediamark Interactive
On behalf of ELLE Magazine"

I don't think I've ever really won anything before! Well, I won a tote bag from these same people once for completing another survey. Of course, that was less exciting as it had to be thrown away shortly after I received it because the cat peed on it.

I am seriously completely stoked about this. Although I'm fighting myself, because the cynical side of me REALLY wants to send an e-mail saying, "What's the catch?"

Eeeeeeee!

*doing a happy dance in my computer chair*

Happy Thursday!!!

Listening to: someone hacking. YUM!
Reading: Hammerhead Ranch Motel by Tim Dorsey
Feeling: STOKED! but cautious


|

back | forward

Site Meter