09.01.2004 10:54 a.m.
Summer ending? and Working Out

What? It's September 1st? How the hell did that happen so quickly?

The summer can't be almost over! I HAVEN'T GOTTEN TO THE BEACH YET!

AGAIN!

I think it's been about 3 years (or more) since I've gone to the beach to lay out in the sun until I get hot, hotter, hottest, and I'm driven to the water to get cool. Reading on the beach is always such a wonderful experience, if you don't mind sand occasionally making a home in between the pages of your book.

I mean beaches around here, of course. I last went to the beach on my honeymoon to Jamaica nearly two years ago. Other than that, though...NOTHING!

*sigh*

Maybe we'll do something beach-y on Monday, when we both have the day off.

**************************************************************

So, I finally tried the first of my Carmen Electra's Aerobic Striptease DVDs last night.

You now have 30 seconds to make fun of me for buying a DVD set like this.

Ready? Go!

.

.

.

.

Okay, time's up.

I felt slightly stupid doing it in front of my husband, but I figured it was probably more fun for him to watch me do that than Pilates or Yoga or something.

I expected some comments from him, but nothing like what he actually said.

Was it "Nice ass!"?

Nope.

Was it "Look at the bodacious ta-tas on her!"?

Nuh uh.

Was it, "Dammit! Why can't you look like that?"?

You could guess all day, and you'd never get it right.

What he said was, "I really like that faux finish on the walls."

I'm not sure if he was just desperately trying to say something that wouldn't offend me or that would make him look like a pervert that he was REACHING, or what.

(For the record, I liked the faux finish on the walls in Carmen Electra's studio, too.)

So far, I think I like the DVDs. I've only done the warm-up and part of the first routine, but I definitely felt it in my legs a couple hours afterwards. It actually made me sweat. Then again, I sweat like a beast anyway. Either way, it was a good work-out.

AND, it reminded me of some ballet terms that I hadn't heard in years. (Since I was 12, when I stopped dance classes.) Relev�, pli�, etc.

I think I'm going to like doing these. Hopefully I can get my legs/thighs/ass in the shape they were in when I danced. Dancing does AWESOME things for the thighs.

W00t!

*************************************************************

When I weighed myself this morning, I actually did a no-shit "double-take". I couldn't believe what the scale said. According to the lovely scale, I've lost 3 lbs. in two days.

PRAISE THE LORD!!!

I can't wait to see how much I've lost by this weekend.

I'm not really craving carbs and stuff anymore (except for a momentary craving for Fruit Loops, of all things, this morning). I AM craving the delicious salad I brought for lunch, though. Anything that involves shrimp and dill is a good thing, I think.

I hope I can keep it up!

Actually, hope, schmope. If I can resist the giant box of doughnut holes in the kitchen yesterday, and the chewy Sprees on the receptionist's desk, I think I'll be fine.


Song in my head this morning: Christina Milian - "Drop It Low"


|

back | forward

Site Meter