06.01.2004 12:18 p.m.
Memorial Day Weekend

Well, this weekend was an interesting mix of maxin' and relaxin' and getting stuff done.

The short version:

Friday: Went to dinner at Kansas City Dipping Grill, then to see The Day After Tomorrow. I must say, the movie ROCKS, but it's not the type of flick you can sit back and watch. I think my entire body was tensed up for the whole hour and a half the movie lasted. I told my husband, "Okay, I think that should count as exercise."

Then we went home and went to bed, because we're old.

Saturday: Slept in, got up and got ready, and ran some errands. These errands apparently included spending over $100 at Victoria's Secret on new panties (I think I MIGHT have a little addiction to underwear), spending over $100 at Ann Taylor LOFT, and spending about $80 at TJ Maxx. Hooray for good deals and sales! And credit cards!

After doing all this mad shopping and spending, we rented Pitch Black at Blockbuster, and went home to watch it. First we cleaned out our closets a bit (he did better at getting rid of stuff than I did), so we could make room for the new purchases. So, we actually accomplished SOMETHING that day. W00t!

Watched the movie, I took about 1/2 hour nap, then we had to get ready to go over to his parents' house to fix their damn computer that breaks all the damn time. After about an hour and a half there, we made our way over to Gary Field's Comedy Club to meet up with his friend Mike, Mike's wife, and some of their friends to see The Raven. The show was HILARIOUS!

Unfortunately, I decided that it would be a GREAT idea to drink 3 Coronas, followed by 2 Long Island Ice Teas. Long story short: there was drunkeness and quite a bit of vomiting, but I'm not sayin' who it was.

That night my husband won another award for Taking Care of His Retarded Wife While She Was in a Drunken State, and somehow got me to bed safely.

Sunday: We stayed in bed ALL DAY. Apparently partying like rock stars leads to recovering like rock stars. We only left the bed to go downstairs to get cold pizza out of the fridge, more soda out of the fridge, and to pee. That was it. Other than that, we pretty much napped and watched TLC ALL DAY. We talked briefly (about 4 different times) about getting out of bed and going somewhere, but were immediately sucked back into the tube.

We finally got up and showered around 7:45 PM (because I could no longer stand the stench of my hair). I managed to take out the trash, clean out the kitty litter, and we changed the sheets on the bed. That was pretty much the extent of our motivation that day.

Oh, and I had given him his birthday present and card earlier that morning, because I decided I couldn't wait until Monday to give them to him. He liked his gift. Hooray!

Monday: Yesterday we actually got stuff done. We went to breakfast at our usual place. I returned a pair of pants that I'd bought at Ann Taylor LOFT, and bought a couple shirts at NY & CO. We went to the fabric store (explantion of why to follow). We went to Lowe's to look at ladders (you can probably guess whose idea that was), and to buy more black eyed susan vines to go on the trellises we'd bought about a month ago, which were still naked.

Then we went grocery shopping, to find things to throw on the grill for dinner. By the time we got home, the two black-eyed susans that we had bought had already wrapped around each other. Semi-creepy...semi-cool.

We grilled, did the dishes, and made a project that we'd been wanting to do for the cats.

We have two media stand things that we used to use as night tables. Now we have different nightstands. So, the cats have sort of adopted one of the stands as their bedroom perch. We put Callie's bed on the bottom shelf, and Az's bed on the top shelf. Then they can both sit on the top of it to look out the window, or go to bed in semi-caves at night.

Well, since our kitties are SPOILED, we decided that we wanted to put a bit of padding on top of the perch, and put a fabric cover on all of it, so it would be more cave-y for them. At the fabric store yesterday, we looked all around before we finally found some flannel-type material that had pink and purple cats as well as the phrase "Glamour Puss" all over it. (I'll most likely take a picture and post it, so ya'll can see our handiwork.)

So far, they seem to like it. AND, I'm pleased that I got to use my sewing machine again. I don't use it often enough. And, it was good practice for making a slipcover for the couch.

Yeah. So that's pretty much the weekend. Now I'm back at work, and I don't want to be. Bleh! Work! Ick!

The good news, though, is that today I registered for JournalCon, and made our hotel reservations. Now all that's left is the flight reservation. W00t!

JournalCon, here I come!





|

back | forward

Site Meter