04.12.2004 10:09 a.m.
Weekend babbling

This weekend was both laid-back and relaxing, and full of getting things done and visiting with people I haven't seen for a few months.

I was going to say a little something about Friday, but can't really remember what we did that night. I know that Friday at work was a seriously insane and busy and frustrating day, even with the very wonderfully noticeable lack of a certain someone's presence.

Saturday started out with first a lovely visit to Kohl's to buy some ON SALE running shoes (originally $64.99, on sale for $47.99). This very positive experience was followed by a visit to my husband's grandma at the hospital.

My husband noticed that I got very quiet while we were there. Having told him that I HATE hospitals, he shouldn't have been surprised. Having had pretty much only negative experiences in them, plus being so empathetic built up and fed off each other until finally we could leave and I could draw in a deep breath again. I actually started crying in the car on the way home from there (which was hidden by my sunglasses), simply due to the feelings of relief from being out of that atmosphere full of sadness and trauma and pain and despair.

My husband works in hospitals pretty much daily, and isn't as sensitive to emotions as I am. I don't think he understands how hard it is for me to be in environments like that. Oh well. Hopefully this will be the last time for QUITE A WHILE that we'll have to visit someone in the hospital. *knock on wood*

This was followed by a child swap with my mother-in-law in the hospital parking lot.

We stopped at home to drop off shopping bags and grab some duck bread, and headed to my parents' house. My sister, brother-in-law, niece and nephew were already there when we arrived, and my sister and her boyfriend showed up shortly after.

We then headed to Hell (aka Chuckie Cheese). It was full of screaming children and loud machines and singing rats and other various headache-inducing items. I think most of us left with a headache. Wheee!

Oh well. At least the kids seem to have had a good time.

Saturday night involved dropping Alex off to her Grandma's so she could attend church with her the following morning. This was followed by TV watching, and bed time.

That night I had some very strange dreams... The main one involved my being good friends with Paris Hilton. I learned a lesson about being friends with someone like her. On one hand, hello? I get to look at Paris Hilton quite a bit. (There was even one scene involving a pool, and therefore, bikinis.) On the other hand, apparently I become invisible when I'm around people like her.

(For instance, after saying hello to a guy by the pool, he said, "Forget you. Look at her!" Meh.)

That was interesting. I'd much rather have a friends-with-Paris-Hilton dream than yet another pregnancy dream, though.

Sunday was pretty laid-back. I woke up early, ran a little over a mile on my treadmill (in my new shoes, thank you very much), and put a load of laundry in. After showering and getting ready, we did our traditional Panera breakfast, and then went to Meijers to do a bit of grocery shopping. After getting back home, I took a pregnancy test (negative, thank GODDESS...my new pill is apparently doing TOO good of a job of convincing my body that I'm pregnant), then started doing millions of loads of laundry. Laundry, interspersed with eating EVERYTHING IN THE HOUSE, and watching the Adam Sandler marathon on USA was the highlight of yesterday.

Tonight will be more of the same (laundry), as well as picking out more clothes to go to Goodwill. I will get the damn laundry room cleaned up if it kills me. That is my goal for the week. Woo!

Food I'm craving: nothing, really
Song in my head this morning: The song from Billy Madison that is sung in a musical-type fashion


|

back | forward

Site Meter