04.05.2004 9:04 a.m.
Viva la revolucion!

Do you want to hear the stupidest thing EVER?

My parents went to Harding's Marketplace last Wednesday to buy some steaks and wine for dinner. My mom, knowing she wouldn't be driving or writing a check, leaves her purse at home. They pick up what they need, and get to the checkout.

The cashier asks to see both their IDs. (At this point it should be mentioned that my dad is 57, my mom is 49, and after attending my uncle's memorial service the previous day, and my mom crying all day that day, they both looked about 100 years old.) My dad shows his, and my mom informs the cashier that she doesn't have an ID with her. The cashier says, "Well, I'm sorry, but I can't sell this to you then. We have to see IDs for everyone in the party."

Dad: "What if my wife stands over there? Then will you sell me the wine?"

Cashier: "No. I'll still know she's with you."

Dad: "What if she goes out to the car? Then will you sell me the wine?"

Cashier: "No. I'll still know she's with you, and she doesn't have her ID."

Dad: "What if I just buy these groceries, take my wife home, and come back here without her? Then can I buy the wine?"

Cashier: "No. I'll still know she's with you, and she didn't have her ID."

After presenting a few different situational possibilities to the cashier, eventually my dad gives up. Sort of. He buys the groceries, tells the cashier to keep the wine at her register, and goes with my mom to put the groceries in the car. He then comes back in (without my mom), takes the wine up to the front desk, and buys it.

After hearing my parents tell this story, my husband and I decide to test the policy. We go to Hardings, pick up some groceries and one bottle of (tasty-sounding) chardonnay, and go to the checkout. I had intentionally left my purse in the car. The cashier asks to see both our IDs. My husband shows his, and I tell him that I don't have mine. He refuses to sell us the wine.

My husband asks to speak to the manager, and he then has a 10-minute conversation with two store employees, neither of whom is the manager. He asks them a few simple questions about their policy, such as "Could you tell me how you define a "party"?" and "If I come in here with my three-year-old daughter, would she have to show her ID?" (To which the woman replied, "No sir. That would be a little ridiculous.") At one point I hear the younger woman say, "We even card 80-year-olds."

Eventually he gets the number of the regional office, and we purchase the groceries that we're allowed to purchase. Then we go to Meijers and buy a couple bottles of wine, because they're not such a pain in the ass there.

Now, don't get me wrong. I'm all for preventing people buying alcohol for underage people. On the other hand, there's such a thing as common sense. A group of 3 21-year olds should probably be carded, as people rarely look their age anymore. A couple of 50-year-olds should not have to have everyone in the party show IDs. And an 80-year-old definitely doesn't need to be carded.

Checking IDs is all well and good, but it should be different for different situations. What if someone who is over the age of 21 doesn't drink? What if a couple goes shopping with their teenage daughter or son? Would they then not be allowed to purchase alcohol because everyone in the party is not 21? What is the highest age a child can be before they have to show their ID?

Besides, what are they really preventing with this new policy? Generally if someone is buying alcohol for someone else who is underage, they will have the younger person STAY IN THE CAR.

Maybe they're worried about people thinking they are being discriminated against if they only card certain people. Or something. I think they should be more worried about losing loyal customers because of this new policy. If it's a GIANT PAIN IN THE ASS to buy something at a certain place, generally people will just go somewhere else. And while they're there, they might as well buy the rest of their groceries there, too.

So, my husband came up with a great plan. He wants to get a group of about 100 people together, and try to buy ONE BEER. He will say, "All these people are in my party. I'd like to buy this beer." We just want to watch them card 100 people for one damn beer. Wouldn't that be funny?

It may not be a very big thing, but hopefully it'll make someone realize that using the policy doesn't require a total lack of common sense.

Besides, it'll just be fun to try it.





|

back | forward

Site Meter