03.19.2004 10:32 p.m.
Rampant debauchery and children

So, I'm walking along Bourbon Street in New Orleans, passing by Temptations, Barely Legal, Rick's Cabaret, the Hustler club, etc., and I'm seeing all sorts of kids with their parents.

Can someone explain to me why parents think bringing their (occasionally SMALL) children to New Orleans and bringing them out at night would be a great idea?

Anyone?

Anyone?

Like I told my husband, I understand people want to come down here. It's a party town. Anything goes. You can come down here, get totally knockered, flash your breasts at random people, get some beads, and then go back to your boring 9-5 job in Anytown, USA without any ramifications.

But why would you want to expose your young (impressionable) children to such debauchery?

I can hear it now...

"Daddy? What's a PEEP SHOW?"

"Mommy? Why did that man say "Show your tits!""

I mean, maybe parents figure that their children are going to learn about sex in school anyway, so they might as well expose them to all aspects of sex and sexuality. Or something. I have no idea.

All I know is that there's no way in hell I'd be bringing anyone who is under 18 on vacation here with me. They may be exposed to the things that run rampant out here, but it won't be because of me.

Jeez.

What is WRONG with people?

And, on that note, I'm going back out to party. *grin* I'll give the pretty half-naked ladies a dollar for ya'll.

Food I'm craving: a frozen 151 proof pina colada
Song in my head this morning: None, really. More like a chorus of "Dammit, my feet are KILLING me!"


|

back | forward

Site Meter