12.29.2003 4:20 p.m.
Purging is good for the soul!

Just in case anyone is wondering, the purge went FABULOUSLY this past weekend. I started by cleaning out my desk. What started out as 7 completely full drawers can now fit into 4 half-full drawers. I actually took a deep breath and threw out my 1,000+ Putt Putt tickets that I've had since I was about 12, as well as my 3,000+ Pocket Change tickets that I've had nearly as long. (I don't know if Pocket Change even exists around here anymore.) I threw away magazines. I needed help to throw away some more sentimental things (this included asking my husband to "tell me I don't need the remaining foot of ribbon that I used to tie our wedding programs together, please"), but all in all did a pretty darn good job.

Next was my closet (along with the piles of clothes on the top of my desk and desk chair in the office). My list of stuff that we will be donating to Goodwill included 1 bathrobe, 49 shirts, 5 pairs of pants, 9 sweaters, 6 dresses, 3 skirts and a partridge in a pear tree. Just kidding about that last one. (The scary thing? I still have a closet mostly full of clothes, a full 3-compartment laundry hamper, and a laundry room full of clothes, both clean and dirty. I think I have a small shopping problem. What do you think?)

We then moved the desk downstairs to the family room, so my husband can use that as a temporary office if he gets bored of the dining room table when he's working at home. We put together the armoire I got on sale at Home Depot for $89 (W00t!) and I started arranging things. I'm so happy I finally have some organization in my house!

And it only took me from 10 AM until 9 PM on Saturday!

And now...the laundry room is next.

*grin*

I guess getting rid of things isn't so terrible after all! (You should try it sometime, N!)





|

back | forward

Site Meter