09.22.2003 1:19 p.m.
Random thoughts because I'm too tired

-I am a walking contradiction. Got back from class and had a Weight Watchers Smart Ones meal (Swedish meatballs, if you're wondering) and then half of a powdered sugar-covered cream-filled doughnut left over from the ones someone brought in from breakfast.

-Yes, I also had a doughnut for breakfast. Oink.

-I'm quite proud of myself. I earned a 93 out of 100 on my Philosophy debate. Whoo hoo! I also got a 90 out of 100 on the exam we took a week ago. It doesn't sound too exciting until you look at the bottom of my answer sheet for the comment "Well done! You earned the highest grade in the class!"

-I'm pretty sure I'm still going to fail my Russian exam. Oops.

-I am so freaking tired today. I couldn't get to sleep last night. Even my knock-your-ass-right-out pill wasn't working. I was thisclose to calling my husband and asking him to tell me a little bit about his job. I'm sure he finds it fascinating, but generally most job-related things he talks about are the equivalent of me mainlining crushed sleeping pills and massive quantities of alcohol. I try not to talk too much about my job, because even I find it incredibly boring at times. It doesn't help that I don't even understand half the shit he tells me about. (Sorry, honey...it's true.) Thusly, I am about to fall asleep at my desk today, and moving even an inch seems like WAY too much effort.

-I had a great time this past weekend. I'll post some pictures once I make 'em smaller. I'll also try to write an entry that is somewhat organized and follows some sort of timeline. Until then, I give you...

THINGS THAT SURPRISED ME ABOUT KANSAS CITY

~ I expected to see flat land and cows everywhere, when actually there's beautiful metal and glass skyscrapers, gorgeous brick buildings, and amazing architecture especially on the churches. Some of it reminded me of Gothic or baroque architecture. Wow.

~ The highways there. Apparently when the city planners were figuring stuff out, they forgot about merging onto highways. As soon as you get onto an entrance ramp there, you're ON the highway. If your car doesn't have good get-up-and-go, you're pretty much screwed. Wave hello to that car behind you, because he'll be in your trunk faster than you can say "shit."

~ The Plaza is amazing. It's gorgeous and definitely a great place to wander around and shop for a while.

~ The Art Fair was awesome. There were artists from all over the US (and even one from South America) who worked in every medium from painting to photography to glass blowing to metalwork. It was incredible. I feel much more cultured now.





|

back | forward

Site Meter