09.18.2003 10:54 p.m.
Memorials and traveling

On Wednesday, after worrying all day about taking my Russian exam, I got to class to find out that we weren't going to have it after all. Our teacher said, "I realized I never gave you a study guide, and I still have to teach you how to conjugate verbs."

Heh. Oops.

So, we'll have it Monday instead. I've got a whole other day to worry about it! Joy!

-------------------------------------------------------

I actually got to sleep in this morning, since the memorial service wasn't until 11 AM. Unfortunately, the cats don't understand "sleeping in." Around 8 am Callie decided I'd had just about enough sleep, and proceeded to knock nearly everything off my husband's nightstand and to jump from the nightstand to the headboard onto the bed until I finally gave up and got out of bed.

I got ready and putzed around until my sister got to my house. She was early! It was a miracle. I showed her our living room and the new refrigerator. The cats came around to check her out. She said, "It looks like that one ate the little one!"

We left and headed toward the funeral home. On the way there we passed M Spa and briefly contemplated going to get a massage instead of going to the memorial service. We didn't, though. We got a bit lost, but eventually found the funeral home. My mom greeted us when we walked in, and told us to go give our dad a hug, but not to say anything to him. She didn't want us to set him off, I guess.

We went up to the front of the room to see my grandpa. I thought he'd have been cremated in between the visitation and the memorial service, but I was wrong. He looked so weird lying there in the casket. His skin looked waxy...fake. His mouth was closed too tightly. He looked so much smaller than he had in life. It was...strange.

The speakers did a great job. They both kept things pretty light and funny, remembering the quirks my grandpa had instead of mourning him. I finally cried and had to borrow a tissue from my cousin. I guess it just took me a while.

After the service, we all headed to my aunt and uncle's house for food and mingling. The buffet included all the foods my grandpa had loved, including Chicken Coop chicken straight out of the box. *grin* I ate about three plates of food, plus a plate of various desserts. Yum!

My sister and I left there relatively early, as I still had to finish packing so I could catch my flight. On the way back to my house, we stopped at her work so she could do a little Show and Tell. I met her bosses and she showed me around her office. It looks like a nice place. Her bosses seem slightly weird, but quite nice.

I went home and got all packed. I nearly forgot my toothbrush, but remembered it just in time. I headed off to the airport, and checked in.

My flight ended up getting into Detroit early, and when I checked the monitors I saw that there was a 5:30 pm flight to Kansas City. I raced to the gate where that one would be leaving to see if I could switch to that flight instead of waiting around for a couple hours to catch my 7:30 flight. I got to the counter JUST IN TIME. The woman said, "I was JUST about to close the door!" I called my husband and told him what time I'd be coming in.

I was so happy to see my husband when I walked off the airplane. I'd missed him while he was gone. My suitcase, of course, didn't quite make the earlier flight, so we went and picked up our rental car, got some Wendy's, and went back to the airport to grab my bag.

On the way to the hotel, we passed by a strip mall which included a place with a name that thoroughly amused me. It's called the "Puffy Taco." I've been trying to figure out since then if it's a Mexican restaurant or a strip club. Any guesses?

The hotel is GORGEOUS. A beautiful lobby, and the room is amazing. I want to steal the art, the wood blinds, and the bed. *grin*

I can't wait to go to sleep tonight. In fact, I think I might do that right now...

G'night!





|

back | forward

Site Meter