09.11.2003 9:12 a.m.
Full Moon Gathering

Blue yellow orange tongues of fire
licking at branches
Sparks rising toward the sky


Men women children surrounding the heat
beating various drums
All in a different rhythm
Combining to form one powerful
and ancient song
Women dancing as if in a trance
Arms swinging wildly
Moving to (within) the driving music
Filled with the energy
raised by the drummers


Crickets cicadas peacocks joining in
Huge orange moon rising over the water
Beautiful healing light shining down
Mars and millions of stars keeping watch

People animals earth together
Honoring the full moon


------------------------------------------------------

Last night my husband and I went to a Full Moon Gathering. It had been YEARS since I had been to one. It was AWESOME. The crappy bit of poetry up there is inspired by last night. It still needs some work.

It's so amazing to me to hear the song the drums create. There are anywhere between one and fifteen people playing different instruments, from drums and maracas to recorders, rain sticks and tamborines. One drummer may start the first rhythm, and throughout the time everyone is playing, it shifts and changes and always sounds beautiful. You can actually feel the energy being raised by the drumming.

The moon was absolutely GORGEOUS last night. It rose behind a tree, orange and bright and perfectly clear. You could easily see craters. I wish I had a telescope so I could look at it even more closely. Mars was incredibly bright last night as well.

I'm so glad I went. It was incredible.

----------------------------------------------------

By the way, my husband finally started a diary. *grin* Check it out! The picture on the template is him and his skydiving team. He's the one you can actually see. Neat, eh?





|

back | forward

Site Meter