09.04.2003 12:02 p.m.
Russian is FUN!

Is it Friday yet? It sure FEELS like a Friday today for some reason. Maybe it's the usual Friday total lack of motivation. That could be...

------------------------------------------------------

I'm amazed by the fact that learning Russian makes me remember the Spanish I learned a long time ago. I'm also amazed by the fact that I know how to say so many words and phrases in Russian already. Even though I do keep forgetting the word for "hello" because it's so damn long. Eh. Oh well. I definitely need to work on my alphabet and spelling, though. I've always been better at speaking languages than spelling them.

At least my professor still seems totally cool. His rambling tangents aren't even that bad. At least they're still about Russia or other Russian-related things.

It was pretty funny last night when he mentioned that he knows 14 languages. He rattled off some Hebrew, then said, "There. That's my entire Hebrew repetoire."

"Japanese? [Blah blah blah Japanese-sounding stuff...] That's all I know in that one. I asked for someone to bring me a glass of red wine and a woman. Always a useful phrase!"

*grin*

He cracks me up. I can tell I'm going to love that class, even though it's quite a challenge. I usually get bored in classes that don't go very quickly because I pick new things up so quickly, but I have a feeling that DEFINITELY won't be a problem in this class. It's HARD. Yet quite fascinating. My professor keeps bringing up the fact that he wants to take a group to Russia next Summer probably. I want to go!!!

Does anyone want to contribute to the "Send Danielle to Russia" fund? Let me know.





|

back | forward

Site Meter