08.27.2003 2:03 p.m.
Slow days and mid-day classes

Dude.

It's only 2 pm?

SERIOUSLY?

Damn.

--------------------------------------------------------

Jeezus, this day is going S - L - O - W - L - Y. Blargh. Seriously. Blargh. I mean it. I'm not kidding. Blargh.

I think I might be retarded today. Sorry ya'll.

--------------------------------------------------------

I'm not sure if I like the whole "lunchtime class" thing. See, when I first started going to school, all I took were night classes. I had time between work and school to switch from my "work mind" to my "school mind." I could have time to decompress from the day of work, try to repress whatever shitty things I had encoutered that day, whatever "Holy-fuck-I'm-going-to-sledgehammer-my-computer" stuff I had been through, and set my mind to the "Open and Ready to Receive New Information" setting.

Having a class in the middle of the day goes like this:

*Freak out about 4 times before I actually have to leave because I think I'm late and my class already started*

*Battle lunch hour traffic and student drivers in order to park 2 miles out from the school so I can walk my happy ass all that way, and have to rest a moment as soon as I get in the school doors* (Yes, I'm out of shape. Shut up.)

*Pay attention to my professor and whatever we're doing in class for about a half hour.*

*Start to zone out and try to will the clock to HURRY UP! every few minutes while I stare at it.*

*Wonder how much work is piling up on my desk and how much my officemate will hate me by the time I get back to work.*

*Think about what I'm going to have for lunch.*

*Remember stuff I should have gotten done before I left work.*

*Think "If I didn't have class right now, I could be going to the tanner. Dammit!"*

*Realize the professor was probably saying something important during all that time, and frantically try to catch up.*

*Leave class.*

*Battle a bunch of morons in the parking lot, none of whom show any common courtesy to let you go in front of them.*

*Pass the dead racoons that are decomposing at a tremendous rate on the road.*

*Almost get rear-ended by some asshole in a GIANT Escalade who is too busy yakking on their cell phone to pay attention to their driving.*

*Finally make it back to work.*

*Immediately sit down and start trying to get caught up on files that appeared while I was in class, while simultaneously trying to suss out my officemate's level of annoyance at my being gone so long in the middle of the day.*

See? Not so much fun that way. Oh well. It's only 16 weeks. I can do it! I CAN! Ooh rah!





|

back | forward

Site Meter