08.26.2003 9:44 a.m.
Living room makeover and Russian

Okay, so...

First of all, some pics of the living room transformation. (Keep in mind that we still need to get a new couch and chairs, and a new entertainment center.)

These are the before shots:

And these are the afters (taken at night, so it looks a little darker than it is):

I think I was drunk or something when I took this picture...Why else would it be leaning so much?

So? What do you think? Maybe I'll take some more after we get the new furniture in there...

--------------------------------------------------------

Can I just say one thing? Russian is HARD. Now, I'm pretty good with languages. I pick up accents very well. I took 4 years of Spanish, and never got lower than a B. I LOVED it.

Russian? First of all - whole new alphabet. We spent an hour last night going over the alphabet alone. AAAAHHHH!

Pronunciation? I don't know if I have that much phlegm. I'm not really experienced with the whole "sounds coming from the back of your throat" thing. That'll take some practice.

Writing? They pretty much write all the time in CURSIVE!! I never even really learned how to write in cursive in ENGLISH! I just do this half-assed write-really-fast-and-connect-all-the-letters thing. My professor informed us last night that "Russians are very proud of their handwriting, and most write in cursive. Don't even bother with the baby step of learning how to print in Russian. Just go ahead and learn the cursive." Eek!

I'm thinking that while my Philosophy syllabus said "You will be expected to do 7-10 hours of homework a week in order to receive an A," I'll be spending quite a bit of time practicing my Russian. But, from what I heard last night, it's a beautiful language. Hopefully it will be worth it.





|

back | forward

Site Meter