08.19.2003 9:46 a.m.
Fun ways to start your day

Before I say anything, go read this entry by Invincible Girl about her first skydiving experience. She rocks for jumping! Whoo hoo! Her description of it reminded me of my first jump. Go live vicariously through her! Read it!

You know what the kicker is? That plane that she jumped out of is the VERY SAME King Air that I made my very first jump out of. Skydive San Marcos bought the plane from Skydive Hastings, where I made my first jump.

Everyone sing along with me! "It's a small world after all... It's a small world..."

----------------------------------------------------------

You know what I think? I think there's no better way to start your day out than by getting a pap smear. Getting naked from the waist down... being covered only by a thin piece of paper for modesty...sticking your feet in stirrups while attempting to maintain your dignity...and making small talk with the physician assistant while she digs around in your nether regions...

There just IS no better way to start my day.

Well, besides like...everything else in the entire universe.

Oh well. It was worth it today, because I GOT MORE GOOD DRUGS! I finally talked to her about my lack of sleep at night and the need for my husband to protect his crotch while he sleeps, lest he be struck there by a flailing arm or leg (or knee, like the last time I actually got him). She put me on 25 mg of amitriptyline (generic for Elavil, an old-school tricyclic anti-depressant that causes drowsiness). My sister told me it makes you "sleep like you're dead." I'm all about that. Even though I've actually been sleeping a little better lately, I'm kind of excited to try this. I just want to see if I can get good sleep more than about one night per every two or three weeks. Hooray for not becoming insane from sleep deprivation!

I'll keep ya'll updated on how well that stuff works.

--------------------------------------------------------

Everyone? Last night I made an extraordinary meal. I even took a picture! I made the Fish with Berry Salsa that I wanted to make last Friday night. Unfortunately, due to the airlines being stupid, my husband didn't get home in time for dinner last Friday. The recipe is called "Halibut with Berry Salsa," but since Meijer's didn't have halibut when we went shopping, we used Tilapia instead. Want to see my handiwork?

It was FREAKING DELICIOUS, if I do say so myself. Even Courtney said, "I am in love with this stuff. I'm going to crave it now. I'll be calling you up going 'Danielle! Make me that stuff!'" *grin* Oh, and we just used Knott's Jalapeno Jelly instead of the Mick's Pepper Jelly. It seemed to work okay.

Mmm...I'd better get back to work before I end up drooling all over my desk.





|

back | forward

Site Meter