08.01.2003 11:33 p.m.
The Joys of...

I've heard so many lovely tales...of incredibly polite people hanging up your coat for you as soon as you get there...offering free beverages (alcoholic even!) the entire duration...the joys of excellent food and all the free snacks you can eat...

Okay, so I'd mostly heard about the free booze.

And now that I've experienced it for myself, I must say...

Flying first class SO kicks ass. I was nearly in heaven during both flights from Seattle to Detroit and then from Detroit to Kalamazoo.

I nearly fainted from excitement when I heard my husband's and my names called over the loudspeaker at the gate in Seattle, after he had talked to the agent about upgrading us to first class. The guy had said, "Well, with your Platinum status, you could definitely get upgraded, but I'm not sure about your wife. We'll put you on the list, and see if someone doesn't show up. We'll keep you updated."

As soon as my husband came back from talking to the gate agent, and told me that we would be sitting in first class, I told him I might have to go into the bathroom to do a happy dance. But that was nothing, I mean NOTHING, compared to the moment we first sat down on the plane, and were offered drinks. My eyes probably lit up like an 21-year-old on his first trip to the boobie bar as I asked for a glass of Chardonnay. I drank it down before we even took off. *grin* I had seconds and thirds during the flight, and then a coffee with Bailey's. All FREE.

The dinner they served was MAGICAL. A salad with fat-free raspberry vinagrette dressing, a roll, shrimp cocktail, roasted chicken breast with garlic mashed potatoes and green beans, and CHEESECAKE. I looked over at my husband when the flight attendant first set the tray down, and told him that I think I might cry. It was THAT EXCITING to me... And quite delicious. I thought briefly as I dug into my meal about what the sad, sad people in Coach might be eating right then, decided it was probably some more of those lovely subs we had eaten on the way TO Seattle, and dismissed the thought so I could enjoy my delicious shrimp cocktail.

I worry that I might be spoiled now, though. I'm concerned that I might become like my husband, whining whenever I'm forced to sit in Coach with all the riff raff. (Of course, his complaint is mainly because he's so tall, and Coach seats definitely lack the leg room of First Class, but still...) Oh well. It was worth it. I think I am a better person, if only for having experienced First Class those two times.

So, in summation, FIRST CLASS KICKS ASS.

Now jet lag, on the other hand, does not. I think I might have to drug myself up tonight so I can get to sleep. It's only 8-something according to my body... At least I've got Saturday and Sunday to get my body used to the time difference. Hopefully that's all it takes. Otherwise, getting up at what seems like 3:30 AM to me on Monday is going to SUCK.





|

back | forward

Site Meter