05.23.2003 9:34 a.m.
Fun with Teeth

I got to visit with the Oral Surgeon today. Whoopee!

As it turns out, my freak tooth is actually a supernumerary tooth that was visible in an X-ray AFTER my wisdom teeth were taken out. It was much farther back in my mouth then, and it apparently just migrated closer to my other teeth. Hmm...

He asked, "Will you need sedation?"

I said, "Unless you want to have to peel me off the ceiling in order to give me Novacaine, it might be a good idea. I'm a weenie when it comes to doctor stuff." (Extra points for honesty, right?)

He said, "Okay. I do it differently that the last time you had oral surgery. I use an IV, so you'll be totally out for the procedure. I also use a type of sedative which doesn't make you all out of it and groggy for hours afterwards. Recovery is much quicker. I'll add some glucose because of your hypoglycemia, so we can try to keep your blood sugar regulated. The thing is, insurance doesn't usually cover sedation for just one tooth, so you'll have to pay for it."

For a cost of? $225. Yippee. I think health insurance should have some sort of "Weenie rider" where you can pay a little bit extra every month, and they can sedate you for anything scary. But, that's just me. I doubt insurance would go for it.

Did I mention I'm totally stoked to get my THIRD tattoo this month? I just have to figure out when my husband can come with me.

Can anyone explain to me why I'm freaked as hell about getting a (very painful) tooth taken out, but I look forward to being stabbed REPEATEDLY by a tattoo machine?





|

back | forward

Site Meter