05.21.2003 11:16 a.m.
The story with a moral

Alrighty! My brain is functioning once again, and I remembered what I was going to talk about!

This is sort of a story-with-a-moral, so if those bother you, go ahead and click the "Back" button right now.

Let me tell you a little story. It's about my uncle. He was a very ambitious man. He worked his way up through the ranks at his company, and his salary showed it. His job involved a lot of traveling, which his wife didn't like, and neither did he, but he figured that once he made enough money, he could retire and they could spend all kinds of time traveling.

Well, he finally did retire. Once he retired, he was diagnosed with a condition that causes him constant pain. (I don't remember the name of it.) He spends most of his days laying on his couch. It causes him extreme pain if he moves around. Traveling? Is pretty much out of the question.

The moral of the story? Don't live your life putting things off until some unknown LATER. Don't live your life saying, "I'll do this and this and this when I have time/money/whatever." If you want to do something, do it. Don't put things off. Take full advantage of the things you have in your life NOW. Tell your spouse you love them. Take them on a nice trip. Be happy that you get to see them on occasion.

My uncle is a (sad, but true) perfect example of this moral. It can happen to anyone...

SEIZE THE DAY, PEOPLE!

I'm going to do my part... I think I'm going to have a strawberry malt for lunch today. *grin*





|

back | forward

Site Meter