03.18.2003 8:20 a.m.
Entry on the war

I missed Dubya's speech last night. I was busy driving my cousin to a club so she could make some money. Did I miss anything exciting?

I'm torn about this war. I don't think it will have any of the effects that Dubya wants it to have. I think it will cause more harm than good. I think many of our patriotic and incredibly brave soldiers will lose their lives in a war/"conflict"/whatever that doesn't NEED to happen. One that Bush hasn't proven is absolutely necessary. I think it will prove to every nation besides the ones who are pro-war that the US thinks it is the ultimate super power, and our methods and actions are above reproach.

I'm also confused about what the average citizen is supposed to do about the terrorism alert being raised to the Orange level. Am I supposed to duck and run as I go out to my car after work? Am I supposed to have a plan to escape from fifty different kinds of emergencies? Am I supposed to walk around in constant fear and worry? Am I supposed to run out and buy my plastic tarps and duct tape and enough water to last for three days? I am confused and unsure about what this "Orange" thing should mean to me. And in my confusion, I just don't do anything different.

If I live my life any differently than I have been, the bad guys win. THEY WILL NOT WIN.

I just hope and pray that this conflict ends quickly and with a minimum of casualties for our troops. May God help us all.





|

back | forward

Site Meter