03.15.2003 9:53 a.m.
Good news and naughtiness

It actually wasn't too bad at the doctor's yesterday. I tried not to get myself all worked up, as I am prone to do, and it worked pretty well. Until they made me wait in the waiting room for 45 minutes past the time my appointment was supposed to be at. Then I got really pissed off. At least I wasn't terrified. I'll take pissed off over terrified anyday. When the nurse finally came to get me, she told me that the other procedure chair wasn't working, so both suites of doctors had to share one. Oo-kay. Good to know.

Once I got into the room, I got to wait for another 10 minutes or so. Joy. I was happy I had a book. I read almost the rest of what I hadn't read yet while waiting for the doctor. Good thing it's a good book.

The doctor finally came in, got me positioned correctly (which always involves "Scoot just a couple more inches down here..."), and started the exam. He had warned me that this was because my pap smear came back showing some "atypical squamos cells of unknown significance," so that he would JUST be looking, and either taking a biopsy or not. I told him that I "would prefer NOT." He laughed.

After he'd been down there for a few minutes, I said, "So you don't see anything, right?"

He said, "I haven't even looked yet." Apparently I was rushing him.

But, it turned out all good in the end. He told me he didn't see anything out of the ordinary, (my husband said, "No aliens or anything?" Ha ha. He's a riot.) and that I was all set. I just need to go in another 3 months for another pap smear. Joy.

I talked the doctor into giving me a prescription for a Z-pack to try to cure my Mystery Illness of Death, and he left the room. After he did, I let myself do a little white man's (only from the waist up) dance of happiness while still sitting on the procedure table, with my sweater on, and just the drape covering my lap. I was STOKED. My husband said, "You can get dressed now, right?"

I said, "Yes. Just let me finish my dance." *grin*

Good times. Good stuff.

We celebrated last night by taking a little cue from TranceJen. I had some stuff that I hadn't touched in MONTHS, and I thought, "What the hell?" So, we got a little happy. And DID WE EVER... That was some kick-ass stuff. We were both STUPID. We kept giggling at each other. I did another dance of joy because that was the first time my husband has ever actually felt the effects of smoking. I believe I may have said, "I AM THE MASTER!" at one point, but I might deny that if anyone ever asks.

Then, being that we're old and married, we fell asleep on the couch around 10 pm, missing the ending of the classic film Caddyshack. What an eventful day.





|

back | forward

Site Meter