03.12.2003 6:24 p.m.
Mystery Illness of Death

Today has been...interesting. I spent much of last night coughing and hacking and then waking up this morning and almost passing out into the shower when I tried to turn on the water. Passing out = not so good for driving. I decided to call in sick. As much as I feel guilty about not working, I don't want to risk death just to go to work and sit there staring at my computer monitor like a brainless insect because I'm too tired and crappy feeling to actually do any work.

I ended up having a big day. I went back to sleep after e-mailing my co-worker and asking her to tell the people in charge that I wasn't coming in, and slept until about 9 am, until my husband called and the cats started being demons because I hadn't fed them breakfast yet. Went downstairs and tried to find something good on t.v. while eating first a bowl of All-Bran (to be healthy) and then a bowl of all-natural peanut butter cereal (for the 10-year-old in me). Couldn't find anything good on the tube. Of course. That's just my luck. There's always a kick-ass movie that I'd LOVE to watch, except I'm just on my way to work or whatever. The day I actually call in sick there's jack squat on the t.v. 800-something channels and nothing's on...

Then around 10 am I went upstairs and checked my e-mail. Typical spam, mostly. I IMed my husband to tell him that I called in sick to work. Then I got so tired I could barely move. Decided to go into the bedroom, just to "rest for a bit." I would wake up, look at the clock, and think, "I should really get up pretty so--" and before I could finish the thought, I'd pass out again. I ended up sleeping until 3 freaking pm. I must have needed it.

I fully intended to go to class tonight to take my Algebra exam, but after showering and feeling like I'd just run a marathon, I decided not to worry too much about it. I'll make it up sometime.

So, I'm going to relax tonight and go to bed early, and hopefully when I wake up tomorrow the Mystery Illness of Death will be gone, and I will feel magically better. Or I will come across some drugs that I can take that will make me feel like I'm better. Whatever. I'm not picky.

Oh, before I go, I just want to tell you that if you haven't read this entry by TranceJen, you absolutely MUST GO READ IT. I laughed my ass off. It's good shit.





|

back | forward

Site Meter