03.13.2003 8:48 a.m.
Skating rink!

The city is a giant skating rink today. Apparently we got a bunch of freezing rain last night. I almost fell on my ass in my driveway as soon as I walked out my door. I had to fight with the ice to get my car door open this morning. Got to try to chip away the ice with my ice scraper. It worked. Sort of. Got to follow one of the city trucks spreading sand on the roads to help drivers not slide all over the road. The highway was AWFUL. I love winter. *grin* Good times, good times.

I'm feeling somewhat better today. I STILL don't have my voice back, but at least I could get ready today without being completely worn out. I also didn't feel like I was going to pass out! Whoo hoo! I think all the sleeping (near-coma-ing) yesterday did me a lot of good.

Unfortunately, being sick is not so good for having energy. The house is a mess. I did a load and a half of laundry yesterday, and cleaned the toilet. That was as far as I got. I guess my husband is going to have to live with the mess for the 48 hours or whatever that he'll be home. He comes back either this afternoon or tonight, depending on if he can get stand-by on an earlier flight, then he'll leave again on Saturday around 5 pm. This will be one of those wave-as-he-walks-by visits, I guess.

Oh well. At least I'll be entertained this weekend. I'm taking my lovely cousin out on Saturday for her 21st birthday. It should be a BLAST! I can't wait to get her all drunk off her ass. *grin* I fully intend on not getting completely plastered so I can keep an eye on her. I'll keep you posted on whether I follow through on my intention or not.

Well, I should get to work. Haven't been here for a day and a half. I have a lot of pretending to work to catch up on.

---------------------------------

Update: I think someone hates me. Auditions start tonight for something that is sort of like American Idol, only it's called Hometown Idol. You have to sing for a couple minutes at a local bar. I would totally be doing this, if I had a freaking voice! Damn it all! Damn my bad timing straight to hell!





|

back | forward

Site Meter