03.05.2003 2:03 p.m.
Nervous about trip...but not flying

Along with my trip to St. Louis this weekend goes the fact that my parents are going to come over and take care of the mail/newspapers/house/cats while we're gone. This makes me slightly nervous for a few reasons.

Reason #1: I know I have to clean tonight so they don't walk into the house, see the mess, scream in horror, and run away, never to set foot in my house again.

Reason #2: I have to remember NOT to set the alarm tomorrow morning, so we don't have a re-enactment of what happened when I went to New York City to be with my husband for the weekend. I got a frantic call from my mother (while I was sitting in the Detroit airport waiting for my second flight), who said, "Okay, what's the code to your alarm? We set it off, and we tried every combination of numbers we could think of, but it just kept going off. The cats were freaking out. Then Dad went downstairs and tried ripping a wire out of the panel, but it still kept going (we have a battery back-up). I didn't take my purse with me, so I didn't have my cell phone with your cell phone number on it, so we had to drive all the way back home to get my phone to call you to get the code." Now they know that the alarm shuts off after 2 minutes of going off (REALLY, REALLY loudly), but I figured I won't put them or the cats through that again. Unless I have a video camera set up to record the hysteria... Hmm.... *evil thoughts beginning*

Reason #3: I'm also a little worried about Azrael. My parents watched Callie (since we only had her at the time) when my husband and I went on our honeymoon. This is what she looked like when we left:

When we came home, she looked like this:

She went from 6 lbs. to 11 lbs. in 8 days. Apparently they believed her when she whined about being SO HUNGRY, and would they please just feed her a little bit more??? (She would litterally sit in front of her food dish and CRY. My husband and I were adept at ignoring her until it was dinnertime. My parents apparently were not.) So, I'm worried that I might return home to TWO fat cats, instead of just one. I figure 4 days isn't enough time for them to do too much damage, though.

So, this weekend will be interesting. Hopefully it will be fun enough to take my mind off the fact that I abandoned my "kids" (the cats) for the weekend, and left them in the care of my (very nice) parents. I'm sure it will all be fine. Right?

As long as I write a note to myself this morning to NOT SET THE ALARM tomorrow morning. *makes mental note*





|

back | forward

Site Meter