02.18.2003 9:43 a.m.
My step-daughter

My step-daughter (Alex, short for Alexandra) is so stinkin' cute that it's painful sometimes. Because we only have her every other weekend, she changes SO MUCH in two weeks. Her vocabulary is increasing exponentially. (Now we REALLY have to watch what we say around her.) Her potty training is getting a little better. She looks more like a little girl now, instead of a baby.

We took her to my parents' house on Saturday night for dinner, and she had a great time. We realized we forgot to grab any extra Pull-Ups for her, though, so once she peed my husband had to run home to grab some more. She was running around with a onesie (spelling?) on, but unbuttoned, having a grand old time. She was on the floor, on the couch, running into "her" room to get more toys... And then she peed on my parents' couch. You know she's got to be cute when she pees on their couch, and they STILL think she's the cutest little thing ever. She redeemed herself a few minutes later by peeing on her potty chair, though. She got a round of applause for that. (She has asthma, so she drinks like a camel, and therefore pees like 14 times more than any other child her age.)

Her vocabulary now includes "coo-coo" (cookie), "monkey," "PLEASE," "princess," umm....a bunch of other things. She is just precious. Even when she's being a monster.

Just for fun, here's a list of things I've said to her that I never thought I'd have to say to another person:

"Just because there's a hole there, doesn't mean you have to put something in it." -When she was putting food in her nose one time at dinner.

"Don't stick your fork in your butt." -When we were at my parents' house eating dinner one time, and she poked herself in the butt with her fork.

"The kitty doesn't like to be head-butted." -When she head-butted Callie after petting her a few times.

There's more, but I can't think of them right now. Perhaps it has something to do with work distracting me. Damn work!

Anyways, to make a long story short: My step-daughter is just the greatest little girl ever!

And to show you how damn cute she is, here's a picture of her peeking through the lattice work on my parents' deck this summer:





|

back | forward

Site Meter