02.17.2003 9:45 a.m.
Weekend update

I had an interesting weekend. Friday night I made dinner for my husband. It turned out to be absolutely delicious. Yum! The cake turned out slightly funny, but it still tasted pretty good. Now I have some leftovers in my refrigerator. Darn it!

Friday night we had the exciting experience of having another bat in the house. I went downstairs to check to see if the sheets were done in the dryer, and got about 3 steps down before I saw a small brown thing go flying by the stairs and into the family room, with Callie (the bigger cat) hot on its tail. I went back into the living room, where my husband was sleeping on the couch, and said, "Honey? I think we have another bat downstairs." He woke up quickly, and went downstairs to check it out. He yelled up, "Yep, it's a bat! Get me a towel or something." I grabbed a small blanket and started to creep downstairs, when he yelled, "Open the door!" and started up the stairs with his bathrobe in a ball in his hands. It was squeaking. He opened the door, and shook the bat out of his bathrobe onto the driveway. It wouldn't let go at first. Then it eventually let go, and was screeching and trying to walk down the driveway. I think the cat maimed it. It was a tiny little bat. He came back inside, and the cat was trying to climb up the door, to get to the bat. She kept giving my husband dirty looks that night like you took away my toy, DAMN YOU,. She went back downstairs and sniffed all over the family room floor where she had kept it pinned.

My husband told me he was proud that at least I hadn't screamed this time. (Jeez, you lay on the couch under a blanket shrieking like a little girl ONCE, and people never let you forget it. Bats are SCARY, damn it!)

We think it came in through the chimney again, even though we have insulation stuffed up there to prevent all our heat from leaking out. I can't wait until it gets warm enough to get the chimney damper fixed so we don't get anymore little bat-type visitors. Although the cat really enjoys hunting and playing with them when they do come in. She's got an amazing vertical leap...probably about 3-1/2 or 4 feet up in the air. (Not bad for an 11 pound beast.) She's super quick, too. We kept calling her THE GREAT HUNTRESS. (The other cat had run upstairs when she first saw the bat. She's a scaredy cat.)

So, that was Friday. I guess I'll save the rest of the weekend for another entry.





|

back | forward

Site Meter