02.13.2003 11:35 a.m.
Babies

I'm expecting my sister to give birth to a new niece or nephew in the next few days. She was actually due yesterday, but so far, nothing. That would be so frustrating to be waiting and waiting and waiting, especially after 9 months of doing the exact same thing.

Then again, I'm not the most patient person in the world. I think it will be interesting to see what I'm like when I get pregnant for the first time. (This won't be for years yet, until I finish school and get established in my field.) I might drive my husband completely insane during that nine months, if not with the mood swings (he should be used to those by now *grin*), then with the cravings, and the swelling, and the fear of getting fat, and the frustration of waiting. He knows I'm not really good at waiting.

I'd want to go right from the "Oh my god, we're pregnant!" moment to giving birth. Actually, strike that. I'd want to go from discovering we're pregnant to actually having an hours-old baby. I'm scared of labor. I hate pain. I hate needles. (Tattoos aside.) Plus, I don't look very attractive when I cry. I'd hate to see what I look like all exhausted and sweaty and red from pushing. I'm sure that will be the furthest thing from my mind during labor, but these are the things I'm thinking about now.

Gosh, listen to me babble.

So, anyway, back to the point of this little ramble... Please send contraction and labor thoughts and prayers to my sister in Pittsburgh. I'm sure she'll appreciate it.





|

back | forward

Site Meter