04.04.2005 1:09 p.m.
A visit with the puppy

I went to visit Irish on Tuesday night. She's pretty much using only 3 legs, but is still getting around fine for the most part. (I think the painkillers REALLY help her.)

I brought the 3 toys I got for her birthday (March 20th). The first one was supposed to keep her teeth clean, but it made her gums bleed within about a minute of my giving it to her. Whoops. That went first into the sink and then into the garbage, when she wouldn't stop standing in front of the sink and whining. She wanted it back, blood or no blood.

The second toy was a large fuzz-covered tennis-type ball. She started ripping that apart pretty quickly.

I have evidence:

The second toy involved two tennis balls strung together with some rope.

First she sort of checked it over.

Chewing...

Trying a different angle...

While the ex and I were talking (and eating Jelly Belly jelly beans), she was busy:

Once she got it into too many pieces (and started eating bit of rope), we had to take it away.

At least she succeeded in totally destroying it first. There is in fact a reason that we call her "Irish the Destroyer".

She really is just a tiny little lap dog, though. (Please excuse the lake of oil on my face.)

Teeny tiny. Barely noticeable.

Except when she has her elbow jammed right into your femoral artery and you can no longer feel your leg. Then she's not so tiny and unobtrusive.

She's a good girl, though. It never ceases to amaze me how excited she gets every time I come over.

Of course, she gets excited over pretty much anyone, but I like to think that she recognizes me as her original Mommy.

Her surgery is today. I hope it goes well. Seeing her limp around on Tuesday night sucked.

I also hope she can actually let things heal up as they need to when she goes back home. I think she believes, as I do, that she's still young and spry. We both forget that she's older and more fragile now.

She's tough, though. She can take it. (I hope.)

Listening to: the radio, as all my CDs are at the house to be uploaded into iTunes
Reading: The Black Book - a magazine


|

back | forward

Site Meter