09.10.2004 10:16 a.m.
And then it rained...gazpacho

This morning, I get ready and go downstairs. I decide, "I think I'll take gazpacho* for lunch today." So, I get the gazpacho out of the fridge, grab the blender base off the top of the fridge, and blend it to make sure it's mixed up. I retrieve a bowl, start pouring it in, and then...I don't know...blacked out or something, because the next thing I know, the bowl has fallen sideways onto the counter, gazpacho is going all over the counter, my cookbook, my shirt, and a huge arc of splatter hit the kitchen carpet. (Who the hell puts carpet in the kitchen, anyway?) Hooray! The sad thing is that it took me a minute to realize what was happening, so I sort of kept pouring after the bowl hit the counter and the mess was made.

So, I run around like a chicken its head cut off, trying to clean up WHILE changing my shirt WHILE keeping the cats out of the gazpacho on the floor WHILE trying to keep my shoes out of it as well so I don't end up tracking red stuff all over the house.

After a few minutes, I gave up on cleaning it myself, knowing if I did I'd be horribly late for work. I go upstairs, wake my husband up out of his happy sleepy time, and make him come downstairs to help. (Sorry again, honey.) He helps me clean it up while I start packing my breakfast and two snacks. He does all the cutting of veggies and such, though, as he doesn't want me to touch the knife. Probably worried I'd cut my finger off or something. Silly man. *grin*

What a way to start a day!

I told him, "I really hope this isn't an omen of how today is going to go." Because that would DEFINITELY suck.

Thank Goddess it's Friday.

*************************************************************

*Gazpacho: a traditional Spanish dish that is basically like cold tomato soup, with other vegetables and delicious herbs and Worchest...whatever that sauce that I can never pronounce is. YUMMY.

Food I'm craving: cucumbers
Song in my head this morning: Not so much a song. More like, "Shit! Damn! Fuck! Motherfucker! Idiot! Moron! Clumsy!


|

back | forward

Site Meter