07.29.2004 10:13 a.m.
In With the Lorikeets (a pictorial essay)

At the Newport Aquarium in northern Kentucky, there is an area where lorikeets fly free. We discovered this joyous place on Sunday July 25th, 2004.

Here is our experience, mostly told using pictures.

We bought nectar cups for $1 each, so we could feed the birds. I was in the birdy area about 5 seconds when this little birdy sighted me.

They have funny little tongues.

But aren't they pretty?

I think I got pooed on for the first time around now.

Drinking, drinking, drinking...

Umm...no bird. The edible stuff is on the inside.

Birds in the branches, lying in wait...for someone to poo on.

My husband gave his nectar cup to this woman. (Isn't he sweet?)

How cute is she?

Once my bird ate the rest of my nectar cup, we were asked to move along toward the exit.

I put my cup under my husband's. These two birds were having a little discussion as to who got to eat the rest.

"That's MY nectar, birdbrain!"

"Talk to the foot, 'cause the face don't wanna hear it!"

"Alright, fine...we'll share."





|

back | forward

Site Meter