06.24.2004 11:04 a.m.
Strange kitty tastes

Az is a strange, strange little kitty.

As I've mentioned, we have to give her 5 weeks of a different kind (than the two she's had before) of antiobiotics. The only form of it that our vet had is pills. Catching her and holding her long enough to shove a pill down her throat is an impossibilty. He told us to call this old-fashioned pharmacy in town, and they'd grind up the pills for us to make a liquid.

When my husband talked to the pharmacist, he was asked what flavor we wanted the medicine to be. The choices were three fish, liver, chicken, etc. My husband thought, "Well, we mix it with tuna, so probably fish would be best."

So, that's what they did.

The problem?

Apparently the fish-y flavored tuna is icky, whereas the BUBBLE-GUM flavored tuna was delicious. She won't eat the new stuff.

I actually stole a tiny bit of my step-daughter's "princess toothpaste" to mix in with the medicine/tuna mixture the other night to see if she'd eat it. She ate more of it than she usually does.

So, now we've tried dosing her food. She mostly eats around it, until the rest of the food is gone. Then she'll eat the medicine-y stuff.

Can someone explain to me why she used to scarf up the bubble gum-tuna as though it were a delicacy, and she turns her nose up at the fish-tuna? Any ideas? Because I'm totally stumped.

I knew she was a bit peculiar before, but this just seems crazy...

Food I'm craving: nothing
Song in my head: the damn Monster House theme song, which has been in there for 2 days now


|

back | forward

Site Meter