02.26.2004 1:03 p.m.
What the vet said

Well, the trauma is over...for a few weeks, anyway.

I called the vet's office this morning to check on Azrael. They told me that she had peed, and I could take her home at any time. They also said that they had the results of the urinalysis, but hadn't looked at them yet.

The vet called me about an hour later and told me, "It's not as bad as it could be, but it's still not good, either. She has a tremendous amount of crystals in her urine. That explains why she's been going outside of her litter box. I'll give her a shot of penicillin to start her off, and then we'll give you some antibiotics to give her. You'll also need to feed her a prescription food to increase the acidity of her urine. We'll check her again in about three to four weeks to see if the amount of crystals has decreased. If not, you may have to feed her that food for the rest of her life. Okay?"

So, she has cystitis. Poor kitty.

She was SO happy to see me, though. All the way home she would cry until I'd stick my fingers through the front of her pet carrier so she could rub her head on them. When I'd take my fingers out, she'd stick her paw out and bat at my hand like "Mommy! You left me there ALL NIGHT! Now pet me, dammit!"

I want to go back home so I can cuddle with her. :-(

Hopefully this food and the antibiotics will fix her. I hope she doesn't get this too often. I don't like my kitties being in pain.





|

back | forward

Site Meter