12.16.2003 9:59 a.m.
Dentistry and insanity

So I got my cavity filled (temporarily) yesterday. Successfully talked them out of numbing me, and just did my own form of self-hypnosis where I just closed my eyes and said the Lord's Prayer over and over and over again. (I wasn't having a religious moment...it was just long enough to keep my brain occupied. I think I said a few paragraphs of "Sick" by Shel Silverstein in there, too.) Pretended I wasn't there. This worked fine, until it either hurt really bad, or they asked me how I was doing. I just thought, "I'd be FINE, if I could continue to ignore you, instead of having to respond. Grrr..."

So, as it turns out, the bands they put on my teeth when I had braces eroded the enamel on my teeth and caused them to become fragile. They ended up drilling nearly half of one of my teeth away, and about 1/4 of another one that was touching the bad one. I have a temporary filling for the time being, which includes an antiseptic to kill bacteria up there before they permanantly fill it, so they can make sure they're not trapping any bacteria. This is great, as I really don't want to end up needing a root canal.

So, I get to go back in three weeks to get my permanant filling. He said next time they WILL need to numb me because this cavity is so deep and so close to the nerve that he doesn't want to risk seriously hurting me. He said they've got a new technique and promises that I won't even feel it.

Actually he said (with his Egyptian accent), "I promise you won't even say 'ow' (makes a pained face) or 'ouch' (holds his jaw in pain) or anything. I know you're scared, but you don't need to be. Do you believe me?"

I said yes, because what am I going to say?

"No, because when I was 12 you told me you were just going to measure a tooth and you ended up ripping it out"?? *grin* I guess that's one of the bad parts of having the same dentist my entire life.

So, that was my fun lunch yesterday.

------------------------------------

I was brushing Callie last night (aka Queen of Static Cling and Dandruff), and I noticed that she STILL has paint on her from this weekend. I don't think I've mentioned that my husband and I painted the front hallway this weekend. It went from being off-white and off-white to being a pretty beige-y/tan color called "Antique" with creamy white trim.

Antique is this color:

I think it looks lovely.

Anyway, Callie has a small obsession with paint. I don't know if it's just her INTENSE curiosity or she likes the smell of it, or what. All I know is that it led to my dad pulling paint off her whiskers when my parents helped me repaint the dining room, and me trying to clean paint off her butt and back leg from this time. In the dining room, she was just sniffing it. This time she actually managed to SIT ON the paint can lid. Smart, huh? I thought so.

Maybe she was just disappointed that we didn't have the ladder out this time for her to climb and use as a perch.

I think it's safe to say that we're all pretty much insane in my house...





|

back | forward

Site Meter