06.03.2003 9:20 a.m.
Being ignored

You know, usually, when I'm at home by myself with just the cats to keep me company, and I'm wishing my husband was home, I don't generally wish that we could be in the same room yet ignore each other.

Last night, he was alternately on his laptop, and programming the new universal remote thingy for 5 freaking hours. Oh, I'm sorry. Not 5 full hours. We did go to Ritter's Frozen Custard to get dinner and to Circuit City to buy the damn remote, so that's like...nearly an hour of actual interaction. Other than that, he was sitting in his chair, and I was laying on the couch. He would say about 2 words per hour to me, and I think he might have actually forgotten I was there the rest of the time. At least the cats wanted to cuddle with me...

I'd entertain myself by watching t.v., and staring at my husband to see how long it took him to notice me staring at him. I wish I'd been timing it. I think sometimes it might have been as long as like 5 minutes...

It's pretty sad when I think I feel closer to my husband when he's hundreds of miles away, and we're talking on the phone, than I do when we're in the same room.





|

back | forward

Site Meter