05.14.2003 8:00 a.m.
Mowing the lawn and Buffy

I finally was able to mow my damn lawn last night. I'd been wanting to for about a week, but it kept raining and being crappy and windy out, so I couldn't. I spent all day at work yesterday sitting here thinking, "I wanna go mow. I wanna go mow. I wanna go mow."

Once I got home? Mowing wasn't that great. First of all, I'm allergic to pretty much everything outside, and this includes grass. Let me tell you how fun I am after mowing when I'm coughing and sneezing my head off. Then there were the fun new obstacles. When the giant dump truck pulled into our yard to deliver the dirt last week, they left giant trenches in our front yard from the tires. The lawn mower didn't really like those. Neither did I. First of all, I had to wrestle with the mower to keep it from falling into the trenches. Secondly, it didn't really like going over them. It kept threatening to shut off. So, those weren't fun.

Then, there were all the sticks and branches and things that had been knocked out of our trees by the high winds this weekend. Those feel REALLY good when they're mulched up and shot at your bare legs, let me tell you. This was me while I was mowing:

*cough* *cough* *sneeze* *sneeze* "OW!"

*cough* *cough* *sneeze* *sneeze* "OW!"

*cough* *cough* *sneeze* *sneeze* "OW!"

Okay, you get the point. Then there was the fact that we acquired a swingset since the last time I mowed. It lives in the backyard now. Figuring out how to mow around that was fun. I think I had some sort of pattern worked out last night, but I wouldn't be able to tell you what it was. Hmm...

So, even though it was quite difficult, it was worth it. The lawn looks MAHVELOUS today. Now if only we could hurry up and get the rest of the dirt we need for the front garden...

Speaking of difficult (ha!, nice segue, eh?), did anyone else catch Buffy the Vampire Slayer last night? I was very excited to watch it, and I ended up being not that impressed. Did anyone else feel that the humor in last night's show didn't really fit in? Like they just at some point in the writing of the show decided that some humor was needed to lighten the mood, so they wrote in a joke? It ended up seeming more like a truck hitting you than a smooth part of the show. I've always appreciated the humor before, especially parts that most likely weren't meant to be that funny, but just were.

Also, was anyone else yelling, "Cut off his head! Cut off his damn head!" last night when Buffy "killed" Caleb? It seems like after all the killing of demons and other such creatures she's done, she'd realize that they don't die unless you do some serious damage to them. Granted, her mind wasn't really in the right place for killing, as all the blood had probably rushed into her nether regions upon seeing Angel, but still... You know damn well that Caleb will appear wounded but alive in the series finale next week.

Next week's episode needs to be at least three times better than this week's. Otherwise I'm going to pout. And my husband can tell you how scary that is...

--------------------------------

Tonight? I'm very much looking forward to a couple of things. First of all, working on sanding the family room door with the hideous green paint on it. I have to stop at Lowe's to buy a mask so I don't end up inhaling a bunch of what I'm pretty sure is lead-based paint. I'm hoping just sanding it will take the color off. Otherwise we'll just have to Kilz it before we paint it.

Secondly? The season finale of The West Wing is on tonight at 9 pm on NBC. Last week's episode ROCKED. I can't wait to see what happens tonight.

I am going to be such a t.v. addict this week... Season Finales galore!





|

back | forward

Site Meter